Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 05:40 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,754
Default Wireless DVI....?

Hi guys.... Wondering if we can come up with a solution for a client... I have a customer who is in need of something like this : Viewsonic WPG-150 Wireless G Presentation Gateway (WPG-150) in Canada - Fast Shipping 1.866.800.8060

But preferably higher resolution support. Do you know if anyone makes something like this in DVI form? Basically, we need the ability to connect laptops to a touchscreen 42".... might be tought.... Not sure how to wirelessly connect the usb/serial for the touch interface either.....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:26 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Hi guys.... Wondering if we can come up with a solution for a client... I have a customer who is in need of something like this : Viewsonic WPG-150 Wireless G Presentation Gateway (WPG-150) in Canada - Fast Shipping 1.866.800.8060

But preferably higher resolution support. Do you know if anyone makes something like this in DVI form? Basically, we need the ability to connect laptops to a touchscreen 42".... might be tought.... Not sure how to wirelessly connect the usb/serial for the touch interface either.....
I looked at something like this before X-mas to carry a hdmi signal to my tv wirelessy.
I will look around for the link, sounds like what you are looking for.

Edit cant find the original one, I swear it was HD capable but similar.

Newegg.ca - D-Link DPG1200 PC-on-TV Media Player - Network Media Players
This one has component out , yup does Maximum Resolution1280 x 720

Quote:
Product MPNMPNDPG1200Key FeaturesTypeDigital Media Streamer#160;
ConnectivityWireless / Wired#160;
Network StandardIEEE 802.11g/b, IEEE 802.3u 100Mbps EthernetVideo FeaturesMaximum Resolution1280 x 720WirelessWireless Standard802.11g/b#160;
Max Data Rate54 Mbps#160;
Security StandartdsWEP, WPAInterfacesHost / Network Interface RJ-45 x 1#160;
Video Outputs Composite x 1, Component x 1, VGA x 1Other FeaturesHard Drive Size130 MB#160;
Operating System Microsoft Windows XP, Microsoft Windows 2000, Microsoft Windows Vista#160;
Included Components Remote ControlDimensionsWidth 4.8 in.#160;
Depth7.9 in.#160;
Height 1.2 in.#160;
Weight 0.8 in.WarrantyWarranty1 YearMiscellaneousProduct ID49954554
I'll keep lookiing for that original link.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:42 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

None of that will work with a touchscreen.

Which begs the question of why you would need remote wireless with a touchscreen? I don't get it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:57 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,139

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
Which begs the question of why you would need remote wireless with a touchscreen? I don't get it.

Lappy sits somewhere in the back of the room, dude runs the program or powerpoint presentaion by tapping on the screen up front. Think business presentations, keynote speech at CES..........
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:59 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
None of that will work with a touchscreen.

Which begs the question of why you would need remote wireless with a touchscreen? I don't get it.
Because there is no signal going back right?
Or is there something else I am not getting?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2009, 03:31 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,754
Default

That is close Supergrover, but it wont handle the touchscreen aspect... SugarJ is correct. That is precisely what the client is wanting to do. Basically they want to have a 42" or larger touchscreen in their conference room, and then when their clients or reps are visiting, they want to have the option of connecting their laptop to the screen essentially anywhere in the room. Obviously, it would be just as simple to just get a docking station or port replicator beside the Screen...but I am first going to try and see if what they want exists. I dont think so though.....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2009, 03:45 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Lappy sits somewhere in the back of the room, dude runs the program or powerpoint presentaion by tapping on the screen up front. Think business presentations, keynote speech at CES..........

The point you are missing padawan.

Why on gods green earth do you need to put the laptop at the back of the room with no one near it?

You plug it in to the touchscreen and control it via the touchscreen. Doesn't matter where it is right? So why employ some expensive solution to put the lappy somewhere it doesn't need to be. A solution that will not allow you to use the touchscreen.

Vortex you are a consultant, give them some good advice.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2009, 04:24 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,139

My System Specs

Default

It's an image/marketing thing. You don't want to be able to see the laptop sitting on the podium/stage/wherever. It's gotta be cool, right? Personally, I'd run a long DVI or HDMI cable to the back of the room, or look for some solution like that. Maybe make a built in miniITX box, mount it behind the screen, control it remotely with the laptop if necessary?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Router no_pulse Networking 14 January 6, 2009 11:41 PM
Wireless Problems. miggs78 Networking 5 December 22, 2008 09:50 PM
wireless problem overlords Troubleshooting 9 July 20, 2008 06:05 PM
Wireless router, G vs. N Matty D Networking 5 January 9, 2008 11:01 PM
Wireless Keyboard cdn_Madrach Peripherals 13 September 25, 2007 08:31 PM