Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Display Units (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/display-units/)
-   -   2 computers, one monitor....... (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/display-units/13386-2-computers-one-monitor.html)

rob123 December 30, 2008 04:41 PM

2 computers, one monitor.......

nearly have a server finished and was wondering about a monitor. dont really want to buy a monitor just to look in once in awhile on the server. i thought about a kvm switch but reviews i have read on nearly every model out there are not encouraging.

so, i have a samsung syncmaster 226bw. we all know it has 2 inputs. dvi and vga.

right now i have my system hooked up to the dvi port. can i hook up the server to the vga port and simply switch between the 2?

i realize i would have to get another keyboard and mouse but with all the boxing day specials out there , that wouldnt be a problem.

thx for any info

rob123

sswilson December 30, 2008 05:03 PM

Yes. I ran the exact same setup for a while with my Samsung 19".

If you want to use the same keyboard/mouse you can pick up a KVM switch, or there's a few decent programs out there that allow fairly seamless switching between two different computers (basically remote control).

BT! December 30, 2008 05:06 PM

unless there is a input select i dont think you'll be able to switch, you should set up your server so you can log into it through remote desktop, just like you would do for a colocated server.

sswilson December 30, 2008 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BT! (Post 132947)
unless there is a input select i dont think you'll be able to switch, you should set up your server so you can log into it through remote desktop, just like you would do for a colocated server.

I've owned 3 different samsung model LCDs, and each one had an easily accessable input switch.

BT! December 30, 2008 05:11 PM