Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Display Units

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 08:38 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

None of the newer TV's have DVI ports. All hdmi. And a legacy VGA.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 08:38 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Yah usb port is a nice feature.
I agree, it is a great feature even for viewing photos.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 08:40 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm a total noob when it comes down to HD TV, but I have one question: no DVI port? Or does the HDMI ports take over?
HDMI takes over. If you are connecting a something that does not have HDMI and has DVI you can run a DVI to HDMI cable, that will handle the video but for audio you would need to resort to either running component to the TV or like most run optical cable or SPDIF to a stereo receiver.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 08:40 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I'm a total noob when it comes down to HD TV, but I have one question: no DVI port? Or does the HDMI ports take over?
HDMI 1.3 can do everything DVI can and then some so it has become the standard. In addition, it is next to impossble to find a Blu-Ray or even upscaling DVD player with DVI these days so it is pretty much poinless to have it on a TV.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 08:48 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BALISTX View Post
HDMI takes over. If you are connecting a something that does not have HDMI and has DVI you can run a DVI to HDMI cable, that will handle the video but for audio you would need to resort to either running component to the TV or like most run optical cable or SPDIF to a stereo receiver.
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't S/PDIF an audio FORMAT that can be carried on Optical (TOSLINK) cable OR an RCA-style Coax cable?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 08:51 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,005
Default

SKYMTL: you are right. My friend that has a 65" TV has his HTPC connected to his TV via DVI to HDMI since he does not have HDMI on the mobo and has a optical cable running from his soundcard to his stereo receiver.
__________________
"Though I walk through the shadow of the Valley of Death I shall fear no evil as my C8 Carbine is locked and loaded."

Next Build: E5200 @ 3.6GHz (333x11) | Xigmatek HDT-RS1283 HSF | Biostar TP43D2-A7 | Mushkin Redlines DDR2-1000 @ DDR2-999 5-5-5-12
EVGA 9600 GT 512MB - 650MHz - 1800MHz - 1626MHz | Seagate 'Cuda 250GB 7200rpm SATA2 | Corsair VX550 | CM690 - Custom Atomic Orange Pearl


[Heatware]
[eBay]
[Rosetta]
BALISTX.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 09:41 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Awesome Review

Hi,

Thanks for the great review.

My respect for your site just went up a few notches. Was considering registering but had held off till now.

keep up the good work.

Regards
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 10:08 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speedfreak365 View Post
Hi,

Thanks for the great review.

My respect for your site just went up a few notches. Was considering registering but had held off till now.

keep up the good work.

Regards
Thanks for the compliment.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 10:12 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Its gets better speedfreak and welcome to the forums!!

Sky that Rabbit would have been dinner had it chewed through any my electrical components, another great review and I look forward to seeing the update say with a little bluray content. Although the images looked damn impressive can it really look any better?
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old November 28, 2008, 10:16 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

That is correct, SPDIF is just the digital audio format and can be transfered via optical or coax.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Correct me if I'm wrong but isn't S/PDIF an audio FORMAT that can be carried on Optical (TOSLINK) cable OR an RCA-style Coax cable?
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes