Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 02:01 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default Integrated Video Mobo's

Over the weekend I got asked to build 2 systems for separate people. Both said they wanted something "fast" for web browsing, watching videos, downloading pictures, etc. No gaming. No overclocking (although I might throw a mild very stable one on). For use with a 19" or 22" monitor. No output to tv's.

So I was thinking about E8400's in a G43 or G45 mobo. Any suggestions for mobo's? Options that I'm missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 02:06 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,617

My System Specs

Default

Why go with such high-end parts? E7200 will be more than plenty, and a G31 board would do just right: NCIX.com - Buy Gigabyte GA-EG31M-S2 mATX LGA775 G31 DDR2 1PCI-E16 2PCI SATA2 Video Sound GBLAN Motherboard - GA-EG31M-S2 In Canada..
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 02:13 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Nice comparison showing different apps running on integrated solutions.
Not totally new but interesting just the same.


http://www.nvidia.com/content/video/...orce_mGPUs.wmv
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 02:20 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Because one of the systems is for my dad, and he wants something similar in speed to mine and my son's which are both 8400's. (serves me right for letting him use my pc Saturday) And he wants an Antec 900 because he likes mine.


But yes, an E7200 would probably do fine. But the G31 is the GMA3100 GPU right? Isn't the new GMA4500 GPU significantly better?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 02:22 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,617

My System Specs

Default

For some surfing? More than enough. If your budget allows it, then go for it; otherwise, it's overkill.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 02:37 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Oh, I agree it's not required. But he actually times the boot time of his system almost every time. Very impatient about that kind of thing. He phones me when the system gets slower. It's usually because he's installed something without realizing it. I'm suprised he's gone 3 years without upgrading, actually.

So, with a $1000 total system budget, I figured I could put some decent parts in it that should keep him happy for a year or two.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 02:37 PM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Because one of the systems is for my dad, and he wants something similar in speed to mine and my son's which are both 8400's. (serves me right for letting him use my pc Saturday) And he wants an Antec 900 because he likes mine.


But yes, an E7200 would probably do fine. But the G31 is the GMA3100 GPU right? Isn't the new GMA4500 GPU significantly better?
Sell yours and upgrade that's what I do
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 03:38 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,617

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Oh, I agree it's not required. But he actually times the boot time of his system almost every time. Very impatient about that kind of thing. He phones me when the system gets slower. It's usually because he's installed something without realizing it. I'm suprised he's gone 3 years without upgrading, actually.

So, with a $1000 total system budget, I figured I could put some decent parts in it that should keep him happy for a year or two.
$1000 budget? Damn, that's a mighty fine surfing rig! Well, why not go for some basic board (EP45-DS3L), a nice video card (4850, 8800GT), 2 Gb of Ram, and a 500 Gb 7200.11 HDD?

That should be within your budget, right?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 03:56 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

$1000 budget is cheap to him, last system he bought was $2200, but I gotta include monitor and kb/mouse in there because the old system is going to my sister. Her system is so old it came with Windows ME.

I've changed my mind again, here's a list of parts:

E8400 - 169
EP35-DS3L - 86
HD3450 - 50
2Gb DDR2-800 - 65
500mb HDD - 70
DVD - 30
Antec 900 - 98
Seasonic 400W - 48
Acer 22" - 199
Vista - 110

Total after 12% tax - $1036
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2008, 03:57 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Might as well get him a decent videocard I agree. Then he can at least play some games.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes