Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2007, 07:09 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default Is someone able to OC FSB higher than 300MHz on Kentsfield

Hi,
I will like to know if someone is able to OC the FSB higher than 300 MHz stable on Intel D975XBX2 mobo?

I did 395 MHz with TwinX Corsair 667 MHz but with OCZ (non-matched) PC6400 800 MHz I am not able to go higher than 300 MHz stable...at 8 X.

Do I need well match memory to push higher?

My goal was to have FSB at 400 MHz at 8 X!

Pushing the FSB give me more memory BW and MIPS for my CAD application...and I like that!

Any suggestions?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2007, 04:19 PM
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: folding in GTA
Posts: 375
Default

I don't have a badaxe but i have several quads running over 300 fsb.

x3210's and q6600's .. they range from 325 - 375 fsb ... the 2 at the high end are running on water.

All are 724 folding stable (eg near 100% load).

Q6600's on p5w64's the x3210's on ds3 rev 3.3

x3210s are 8 multi, q6600 are 9.

I haven't tried them without matched memory.

p5w64's are using 2x512mb crucial 6400 ... dont recall but i may have a mulitplier > 1:1 on these.
ds3 are running corsair 2x512mb 5400 ul 1:1
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2007, 06:50 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

...this is what I think (with PC6400 memory), the key must be with well match memory!
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 19, 2007, 08:30 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Does that board allow you to 'unlock' the memory?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2007, 02:54 AM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Bad Axe 2 should have no problem going over 300MHz FSB on a quad. What kind of cooling are you using on it? What kind of instability are you encountering?

I haven't used a bad axe 2 in a while, but iirc it was a pretty good Kenty board.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2007, 04:29 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

To answer Babrbarossa, I attached a picture of the option that I have with this board.

I have the Ultra Chill Tec electric cooler. I do not have problem with temperature...I monitor carefully with MemTemp.

When I cross the 300 MHz FSB...I can't post or if I post, Windows freeze or I started having error with Prime95.

With my TwinX Corsair at 667, I was able to go up to 395 MHz. But was stable and temp was at 65C (100% load) when FSB = 333 MHz and multiplier at 10.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz

Last edited by francois methot; April 20, 2007 at 04:36 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2007, 04:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default

I attached the CPU setting
Attached Images
 
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2007, 05:11 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Try cranking the CPU up to 1.55V - should be no problem with the TEC- won't even make it sweat.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2007, 08:03 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 123
Default ...new problem with 4GB of memory

I never try to crank the CPU voltage higher than 1.40.
I did try CPU voltage up to 1.55 volt and I was able to OC 9 X 333 MHz or 11 x 300 MHz with the non-matched OCZ PC6400 memory.

I compared the results of Sandra's Memory BW, CPU MIPS and MFLOPS and Super PI with the Corsair matched PC5400.

I concluded that a non-matched PC6400 800 MHz equal a good matched PC5400 667 MHz...Stable with Prime95 with Temp below 70 C. Too bad, I should know that to OC I should buy matched memory!

Now I have a problem: I did all my testing with only 2 sticks of 1 GB memory. When I tried to put back my two other Corsair sticks, the computer can't post anymore. I tried to reset everything at stock and still can't post.
I swap memory stick and same problem!!!
Is anyone encounter this problem before?
__________________
Intel Core 2 Quad QX6700 OC 3.6GHz
Mobo D975XBX2, 4GB DDR2 800 MHz Corsair TWIN X Dominator
4X 36GB Raptor in RAID 0 (on Intel controller with dual Boot Win32 Pro)
3X 360 GB Seagate No RAID (on Marvell controller for Apps, Paging and Back up)
EVGA GeForce 8800GTS Dual DVI- 2x Monitors 24'' 1920 x 1200
Water Cooling, Ultra X3 1000 Watts PWS.
ASUS Laptop G2S T7700 @ 2.4GHz
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 22, 2007, 08:10 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,730

My System Specs

Default

Did you try a c-mos reset? It sounds like one or more of your "enhanced" memory settings is beyond the abilities of your second set of memory.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB IDE Hard drive 40GB(or higher) belgolas Buy/Sell & Trade 6 February 8, 2008 10:45 PM
tighter timings or higher speeds thetallone RAM 5 July 6, 2007 08:39 AM
Chartered Semi in talks to move AMD to higher tech Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 March 22, 2007 04:19 AM
Kentsfield and the 680i advice sizerkozak Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 15 February 26, 2007 02:37 PM
Kentsfield Review by HardwareCanucks Gav CPU's and Motherboards 0 November 8, 2006 10:53 PM