Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 07:18 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,628

My System Specs

Default SLI board, mainly for Folding...

I'm assessing what to do with that second GTX280. I was suggested to use it for folding - but I don't have a SLI board. I'd still need a better PSU (using a Corsair HX620W ATM) though, but that's not a problem.

Now for the board: which one would you guys suggest. Price to be below $250, air-cooled CPU and GPUs.

Remember this will be mainly for Folding. Any help is appreciated.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 24, 2008, 07:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Markham, Ontario
Posts: 183
Default

EVGA 750i FTW unless you want tri-sli whihc isnt that great
also more spacing between the two pci-e slots on the 750i ftw so better cooling for top gtx280
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 01:04 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slntdth93 View Post
EVGA 750i FTW unless you want tri-sli whihc isnt that great
also more spacing between the two pci-e slots on the 750i ftw so better cooling for top gtx280
I second that. Cuz FTw got dual x16. Or u could get a used 680i for cheap
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 01:08 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oksir View Post
I second that. Cuz FTw got dual x16. Or u could get a used 680i for cheap
680i = BAD
750i FTW = much improved 680i
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 01:12 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slntdth93 View Post
EVGA 750i FTW unless you want tri-sli whihc isnt that great
also more spacing between the two pci-e slots on the 750i ftw so better cooling for top gtx280
You can't Fold using SLI/X-Fire. So, he could use to different video-cards for Folding, and it won't matter. If using VISTA, you have to have a monitor connected to each video-card. With XP..one monitor for both cards is fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 09:57 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 240
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
680i = BAD
750i FTW = much improved 680i
even tho u have bad experience with it, doesnt mean its bad...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 10:05 AM
Spaceman-Spiff's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: burnaby.bc.ca
Posts: 355
Default

Quoting from another forum:

You do not need SLI to run multiple nvidia GPUs for Folding@Home. Each card only needs to be seen as a video card adapter. There isn't much traffic, so a 4x PCI Express lane isn't a bottleneck either. Vista is more efficient than XP for the Nvidia GPU client. In XP, 1 GPU uses 1 core. In Vista, 1 GPU uses ~ 20% CPU. However for Vista, the card needs to be connected to a monitor or at least have a terminator to be detected.

Some 790FX mobos are good for folding since they contain 4 PCI-e slots. You can run a few lower-powered GPU like the 8800GT and finish lots of WUs.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 10:05 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oksir View Post
even tho u have bad experience with it, doesnt mean its bad...
EVERYONE has had a bad experience with the 680i. Its not call crap for a reason.. those boards unexpectedly die and take the memory controller and if your luck your memory will be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 11:27 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,648
Default

Just like it has been mentioned: You don't need SLI to fold with a pair of Nvidia cards. You can use a Crossfire board or if you have dual ATI GPUs, you can use an SLI board.

Personally, I would recommend picking up a used X38 board. I am not sure if this still applies but the Nvidia folding client used to be very CPU limited.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes