Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 07:19 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default Does the X3110 work with Asus P5Q-E?

Hey all just as the thread says does the Intel Xeon 3110 run hotter then E8400 its essentially the same chip but i wanna know from members with this chip if it does going back and forth whether to get the Xeon or the E8400?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.


Last edited by Dashock; August 15, 2008 at 11:13 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 07:56 AM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

From what I have read they are the same except the 3110 has some extra code added.
I have a 3110 and they come with a shorter heatsink/fan.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 08:05 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowed View Post
From what I have read they are the same except the 3110 has some extra code added.
I have a 3110 and they come with a shorter heatsink/fan.
so does the 8400.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 08:18 AM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default


The one one the left is the one that came with my 3110.

Sorry if I am wrong about the e8400 cooling unit. I do not own one and I was told they used the larger one.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 08:20 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Yea i have seen the smaller heatsink of the E3110 either way its going under water but yud think with a smaller heatsink it would mean cooler cpu but users around the web say its runs a bit hotter.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 08:25 AM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Oh , the xeons are binned for lower voltage.

They shouldn't run any hotter...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 08:35 AM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Yea i heard the E8400 sum have faulty/stuck sensors maybe thats why sum users online when reviewing their temps find it higher im gettin wayy too excited.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 08:36 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowed View Post
The one one the left is the one that came with my 3110.

Sorry if I am wrong about the e8400 cooling unit. I do not own one and I was told they used the larger one.
I'm here to set the record straight.

8400s come with the small one.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 08:39 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,076

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
8400s come with the small one.
Ditto. I've bought 2, they both came with the wee stock cooler.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 14, 2008, 08:42 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,596
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Ditto. I've bought 2, they both came with the wee stock cooler.
Which I had my 8400 o/c to 3.8ghz with ;) I had it upto 3.9 but 70 under load was
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes