Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 09:20 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Just chucked a Pentium D 805 in my rig and holy crap does this thing suck

Well I took my Q6600 out of my rig in order to use it for some water block testing on my test bench, and I wanted to be able to use my gaming rig in the meantime because the test bench A) has no programs, and B) uses a 6200TC.

So I overclocked it to 4.0GHz, put a Swiftech STORM on it because I'm not testing that block yet, and I'm blown away by what a noticeable difference it makes, even in a game like Prey that have no multi-threading awareness...

Everything is choppier and the game has gone from easily playable, to choppy and unplayable with just a CPU downgrade. I didn't realize CPU made this much difference. I'm afraid to even TRY Supreme Commander.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 09:57 PM
Beermaster's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Spruce Grove, AB
Posts: 266
Default

wow i didnt think it would be that bad, hm learn somthing new everyday
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 10:01 PM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

That is interesting to hear there would be such a huge difference. What speed is the cpu running at ?

My thoughts have been that most cpus these days will work for gaming, you just need a decent video card.
I have not had much experience with the Pentium Ds although they apparently oc like crazy if you have the cooling for them.

I guess after running a Q6600, it would make a lot of cpus seem slow :)

Edit: I just saw your video card. Its probably sucking the life out of that poor little D805.

Last edited by Shadowed; April 14, 2007 at 10:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2007, 11:49 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

Once you use newer tech/highend parts it hard to use anything slower that causes a huge bottleneck huh?
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2007, 09:06 AM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Well, im not surprised! What vidcard are you using with that D 805 ? Im almost sure that it's being bottlenecked by that poor CPU!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2007, 09:11 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,417

My System Specs

Default

The 800 series were all dual core weren't they? (Never could get my mind set on the intel naming system....).

Is it possible that the games are optimised on install for the processing power of your hardware?

Seems strange that you'd see that big of a difference after clocking that D chip so high.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2007, 09:44 AM
Shadowed's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 238
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
The 800 series were all dual core weren't they? (Never could get my mind set on the intel naming system....).

Is it possible that the games are optimised on install for the processing power of your hardware?

Seems strange that you'd see that big of a difference after clocking that D chip so high.

I thought that was the Q6600 oc'ed to 4ghz. Ok disregaurd most of my last comment
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 15, 2007, 09:51 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,616
Default

Personally, I think at 4.0Ghz you are above what your PSU will allow. As far as I recall, the 805 takes something like 135W STOCK. Overclocking A Pentium D from 2.8 to 4.0 increases the power usage to ridiculous proportions which may be bumping into the OCP of your PSU which is set at 18A (216W). I have found that once you reach the OCP limit of some FSP-based PSUs, the performance decreases instead of the PSU shutting off.

This is just an idea, but switching to an PSU with a large single rail is recommended when overclocking Pentium D processors.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2007, 07:59 AM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Interesting thought, SKY...

I guess my biggest problem is finding a good quality single rail power supply that isn't noisy. I really like, and often use the Silverstone Zeus units, but they're just too darn loud for day-to-day use imo. They will run at full tilt blasting out cold air all day, rather than throttling the fan... :(

I really wouldn't have thought that I'd be running into the OVP though simply because I haven't overvolted by that much. Maybe I'll play around with settings again. It's not so much that the system slowed down as that it runs at a smooth framerate, then stutters. There's more stuttering in scenes with lots of graphical detail and with more *stuff* around. Sound like PSU?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2007, 09:07 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Misoprostol View Post
There's more stuttering in scenes with lots of graphical detail and with more *stuff* around. Sound like PSU?
Sounds like what happened with the Enermax PSU in my 500W PSU roundup. It could still be your processor but I would check your PSU anyways.

Don't forget, in order for the maximum amount of power on the +12V rails on a GameXstream you have to have a minimal amount of load on the +3.3 and +5V rails. That shouldn't be much of a problem for you but it is another thing to consider.

As for a single rail PSU, you might want to look at the new Silverstone Olympia 650W or 750W.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Leafs suck Less? JFJ gonzo Ugly n Grey Hockey 10 January 27, 2008 11:13 PM
The hall thing started from a cd... omgwtf Off Topic 6 November 15, 2007 03:48 PM
Update the Bios first thing? Corpus Masochist CPU's and Motherboards 1 October 1, 2007 07:29 PM
For crap sake Scratch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 4, 2007 09:55 AM
Pentium Lives!! Pentium E2160 and Pentium E2140 Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 4 June 4, 2007 04:25 AM