Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 04:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 105
Default 4 pin power enough for QX9650?

Just bought a new Asus P5E- Deluxe Motherboard with a QX9650
turns out the motherboard's CPU power plug is broken

the bottom 4 is alright
but the top left has 1 pin that is messed up

As a result
i cannot plug in the 8 pin CPU power chord in properly no matter how i try
I can only plug in 4 pin

Already called up ASUS for an RMA
but does it make a difference 8 pin vs 4 pin?

would i be able to run the QX9650 just on the 4 pin?
I really don't want to wait any longer for this computer to be built
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 04:59 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Yeah 4 pin is fine. Only really need 8 if you are heavy into Overclocking.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 05:02 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Is this the system where you thought the Enermax PSU was toast because it was giving you short code beeps?

Chances are that the broken connector on the mobo was shorting out the PSU. Do you really want to put a $1100 CPU into that board? I sure as hell wouldn't. But it's your money.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 05:15 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 105
Default

yeah this motherboard ****** up my PSU
i had to go to the PSU distributor today in my city to get an replacement

and now
the i prob have to wait 3 weeks for this motherboard to be mailed back to me fixed

holy crap
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 05:20 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,577
Default

Do not run a QX on a 4 pin plug for the love of god.

Your gonna put a $1200 cpu and rely on that?

Might as well buy an asrock board for it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 05:25 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,613

My System Specs

Default

I would never install my QX9650 on a defective board....
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 05:27 PM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,836
Default

Better to wait three weeks than loose a couple of thousands worth of gear if you decide to OC. I'm not sure i would trust a board with a broken 8pin connector. Never heard of a broken connector though.
I could babysit that cpu for you till its ready for its new home.

Anyway in that time you might decide that you want the mighty rampage extreme
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 05:37 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Might as well buy an asrock board for it.

Lol, I just bought an Asrock X48TurboTwins from Eldonko. CHEAP! Don't like the 24pin connector placement though. I'm gonna have a hell of a time hiding that cable.

@Howdid, what I was getting at is that your PSU was probably fine, it was the Mobo causing the problem all along. If that connector was shorting, it still will short whether there is a 4-pin or 8-pin plug in it. I wouldn't put an E1200 in that board right now, let alone a QX9650.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2008, 05:46 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 105
Default

wow
i called ASUS technical support at 6 pm today
they made me wait 1 hr and 30 min to get to a guy
who pretty much yelled at me and thought that i was a noob who didnt kno jack

He try to convince me that i was wrong by telling me he has never heard of a messed up CPU power pin b4

and he transfered me to the RMA department
which made me wait for 1 hr
then somebody picked up
told me to hold
and i waited for like 30 more min

what a piece of crap ASUS

will never buy their brand again
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes