Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 07:51 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default E8500 Wolfdale Temp

Hello everyone,

I just received my E8500 CPU yesterday, so I installed it with the stock CPU and OCZ Silver. First thing I noticed, the heatsink is half the size of my E6600 and doesn't have a copper base. So, anyways I thought since it's the new 45nm tech, it wouldn't matter. After messing around in the bios and get the multiplier to 9.5 ( N/2 Force option, remember that) I booted Windows Vista, it booted super fast, and I noticed the difference right way. But then I ran Core Temp and my IDLE temp was 49 - 52 degrees... I find that a bit hot for my case (Antec 900). I can't remember my temps on my E6600, but I don't think they were at 50, rather 38 ish.

I don't OC, but if heat begins to be an issue I will get another heatsink ASAP.

Is it normal ?
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 08:08 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chos3n View Post
Hello everyone,

I just received my E8500 CPU yesterday, so I installed it with the stock CPU and OCZ Silver. First thing I noticed, the heatsink is half the size of my E6600 and doesn't have a copper base. So, anyways I thought since it's the new 45nm tech, it wouldn't matter. After messing around in the bios and get the multiplier to 9.5 ( N/2 Force option, remember that) I booted Windows Vista, it booted super fast, and I noticed the difference right way. But then I ran Core Temp and my IDLE temp was 49 - 52 degrees... I find that a bit hot for my case (Antec 900). I can't remember my temps on my E6600, but I don't think they were at 50, rather 38 ish.

I don't OC, but if heat begins to be an issue I will get another heatsink ASAP.

Is it normal ?
Yeah, Wolfdale thermal-sensors are all out of whack. I went from an E6600 to an E8400, and i was disappointed in temps as well.. but yeah, the stock HS/F they ship with them is a joke. If you have any intention of overclocking...definitely get an aftermarket HS/F. Nothing to be concerned about.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 08:11 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Tanker View Post
Yeah, Wolfdale thermal-sensors are all out of whack. I went from an E6600 to an E8400, and i was disappointed in temps as well.. but yeah, the stock HS/F they ship with them is a joke. If you have any intention of overclocking...definitely get an aftermarket HS/F. Nothing to be concerned about.
Even though, 50 degree, on 10 - 15% CPU Usage... that's scary...it's also summer but ... I might save some bucks and go with another one. The new heatsink is so small!
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 08:15 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chos3n View Post
Even though, 50 degree, on 10 - 15% CPU Usage... that's scary...it's also summer but ... I might save some bucks and go with another one. The new heatsink is so small!
Ummm...you lost me... you might get another what?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 08:35 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,684

My System Specs

Default

Don't use Core temp with the 45nm chips. Use Real temp: Real Temp - CPU temperature monitoring. And please do install an aftermarket HSF... the stock Intel sucks.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 08:44 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

CPU! nah, a heatsink (aftermarket)

Now I think of something... I was so eager to try it out, I think I didn't remove the thermal paste on the heatsink and I just applied my OCZ Silver... so if the Intel Stock Thermal paste is still present with my OCZ Silver... this might cause the heat problem...

EDIT: Ok I will try that new program aswell.
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 08:49 AM
Mibs's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. John's, NL
Posts: 311
Default

That's odd, Last time I installed a 45nm it came with the usual Intel hsf.
__________________
Intel C2D E6750 @ 3.52 GHz // EVGA 680i SLI Rev. A1 (P31) // 4 GB OCZ Platinum 800 MHz 4-4-4-15 // PC P&C Silencer 750 Quad // Antec P180 // EVGA 8800 GTS 512 // Samsung Syncmaster 226bw 22" LCD

WC Loop: D-Tek Fuzion V2 // Danger Den Maze 5 // Swiftech MCP655 // Swiftech MicroRes // Thermochill PA 120.2 + 4 x Noctua NF-P12
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 09:17 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mibs View Post
That's odd, Last time I installed a 45nm it came with the usual Intel hsf.
It did came with a stock intel hsf, but it's a half size version of the E6600 cooler.
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 10:35 AM
Chos3n's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Rigaud,QC
Posts: 745
Default

Ah, I might just go grab a new heatsink, any suggestions?
__________________
System | Ragnarok
Case Antec 900
PSU Corsair TX750W
CPU Intel Core i7 2700K 3.5GHZ
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V
Memory Corsair Vengeance Blue 8GB 2X4GB DDR3-1600 CL9-9-9-24
Video Card MSI GeForce GTX 560 Ti Twin Frozr II
Sound Card ASUS Xonar DX
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2008, 10:56 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,141

My System Specs

Default

If you're not going to overclock, grab a Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro. DC has them for under $20.

If you are going to overclock, look at the OCZ Vendetta 2 or Xigmatek HDT-S1283 for under $40, or the always popular Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme for around $60 plus a fan.

I personally have a Scythe Ninja Copper which I've had great results with (idle 28deg, load 39) on an E8400 at 4.0Ghz, but you gotta like the look of copper.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes