Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2006, 07:04 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default 17cm X 17cm S754 Mobo

This has got to the the coolest thing I've seen in quite a while....

http://www.pcstats.com/articleview.cfm?articleID=2050

Full featured combo board with a footprint just slightly larger than a CD case. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2006, 07:42 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,350

My System Specs

Default

The only trouble I see is it's getting extremely hard to find S754 cpu's anymore.

This would be a good base for a NAS box that i'm thinking of building.:)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 9, 2006, 08:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

I'm still running two computers with 3100 semprons. Probably leave the 6100 chipset machine in one piece, but I've got a MSI nF4 board running an AGP card through their AGR slot (scaled down AGP on a Pcie board) that I wouldn't mind replacing when I upgrade to an Opty and give my young lad my 3700.

I'm thinking it would be neat just to randomly pick some piece of old electronics (got a couple of old vcrs kicking around) to mod into a case.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2006, 06:29 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Hopefully one is a BETAMAX! :)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2006, 09:43 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,793

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Hopefully one is a BETAMAX! :)
Heh.... I can honestly say that I've never owned a betamax. I'm pretty sure though that the machines we used to rent from the video rental store were betamax. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2006, 09:37 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Wow. That motherboard is amazing. it'd be great for a low powered HT PC. You could almost stick it in one of those TVs with a built in DVD drive or something. Rig up some heatpipes for the CPU... that'd be a fun project. haha.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2006, 05:12 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,261

My System Specs

Default

Or rig it up ina car, buddy did that with a celly way cool IMO
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2006, 11:06 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

You could put one of these almost anywhere! You could mod it into an old CRT or something and make an iMAC! HAHA.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2006, 09:00 AM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,350

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Or rig it up ina car, buddy did that with a celly way cool IMO
I contemplated doing that a while ago but after seeing my friend (who is alot more knowledgable with car audio than me) struggle with the setup I decided to pass. It was pretty cool when it worked though.:D
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which mobo should I buy? yycraven CPU's and Motherboards 27 January 15, 2008 08:31 PM
Mobo and DVD DSNB Troubleshooting 6 December 27, 2007 07:08 PM
Bad cpu/mobo for o/c? Frustian Troubleshooting 6 November 3, 2007 11:09 PM
Which CPU for this mobo jap333 CPU's and Motherboards 12 October 24, 2007 03:26 PM
new mobo and ram help tony the tiger CPU's and Motherboards 6 September 19, 2007 07:24 PM