Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 9, 2007, 09:56 AM
Rookie

Question New System - Need help

Hello all...

First off, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to respond to this.

I am building a new system and plan to buy all my parts and what not on the 16th of April. Since I am posting here for help, it is safe to assume that I am a complete noob. I've only built 3 systems in the past and I really want this one to be good. Is April 16th a good date? I don't mind waiting another 2 weeks or so if there someone believes that the prices will drop due to some new release.

I've got a budget of about $3,000.00 and I want a gaming rig that will run any game I choose to play flawlessly at high fps rates. I also want a system I can brag about :p. I do plan to overclock this system to the absolute best of my abilities (with your help).

So far, based on the reviews I've read, I have decided to choose the following:

CPU:
INTEL Conroe E6600 2.4GHz FSB1066MHz 4MB LGA775 Dual-Core (E6600)

MB:
Debating between 3 of them: P5B-E, P5N32-E SLI Plus, Striker Extreme

Video Card:
8800GTX - BFG/XFX/ASUS/EVGA - Whichever is the cheapest

Sound Card:
On-board should be fine for my Logitec Z-5500 which I plan to use still.

HDD:
Two Raptor 150's in Raid 0.

Memory:
There is SOOO much to choose from, I don't know which is best for overclocking with my setup.

PSU:
OCZ GameXStream Power Supply (SLI Ready) 700W (OCZ700GXSSLI)
(Is this a good choice?)

Case:
Thermaltake ARMOR Silver Aluminum full tower ATX case w side window (VA8000SWA)
(Is this a good choice or are there better/cheaper alternatives?)

KB/Mouse:
I'll use my current

CD/DVD Drive:
I'll decide on my own.

Monitor:
NEED MAJOR HELP HERE!!! I want at least 21" and I have no idea what kind of monitor would be best. I prefer fast response rates and excellent quality. I'm also looking at LCD.

Also, I plan on buying from:
Infonec
Canada Computers