Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2007, 03:19 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I ordered a Pentium M CPU from Canada Computers once and I couldn't believe the runaround they gave me. First it was shipped, so I asked for a tracking number. Then it was within BC, so I asked for my tracking number. Then a couple weeks went by with no communication from them, so I asked for a tracking number, then it had been shipped a couple days prior, so I asked for a tracking number, then it finally arrived 2 weeks later, and it was an open box unit when I had ordered brand new, and it hadn't been shipped until a couple days before it arrived. Shady company.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2007, 03:35 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, I should have been more specific. I was not talking about ordering online. I was talking about in-store purchasing. I have heard bad things about their online service, but I have never had a problem dealing with them instore.
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 05:21 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

If you're looking at those NVidia chipset motherboards, you can 'unlink' the memory so you don't need fast ram to overclock, or you can lower the latencies without worrying about the frequency.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 11:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 34
Default

So many helpful comments, but I still seem to be a bit lost on the Motherboard issue. I have decided to go with the Patriot RAM from NCIX... But there are sooo many opinions on mobos that I'm kind of lost. I will be purchasing the Monitor from Dell :(. Can anyone just suggest a mobo that will work well with that set-up?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 12:32 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to say EVGA 680i, but as people around here will tell you, I'm a bit of a fanboi
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 03:19 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 34
Default

I've posted on a lot of forums and this is the BEST by far! I have narrowed it down to the following:

CPU:
INTEL Conroe E6600 2.4GHz FSB1066MHz 4MB LGA775 Dual-Core (E6600)
- I like the 4mb of cache and I can easily get it to 3.7ghz

MB:
STILL debating between 3 of them: P5N32-E SLI Plus, Striker Extreme and EVGA 680i (I plan to SLI in the future)

Video Card:
EVGA 8800GTX
- I'll be ready to upgrade in the future to SLI with this.

Memory:
http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...t&promoid=1008
- That is a really good deal!

HDD:
Two WD Raptor 150s in Raid 0.
- If not this (due to price), then I might just get two really fast 320s or something like that.

PSU:
OCZ GameXStream Power Supply (SLI Ready) 700W (OCZ700GXSSLI)
- I like the way it looks hahaha

Case:
Thermaltake ARMOR black Aluminum full tower ATX case w side window
- I like the way it looks - Is there anything better in terms of performance??

Cooling:
NO IDEA - I'll use air for now...

Monitor:
Widescreen 24" from Dell

What do you guys think?
Sameer
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2007, 10:11 PM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

get the 680i MB the striker is way too expensive among other things. The 680i is a great OCing board with dual 16 pipeline PCI-e
If you are going to go SLI with that setup and a big OC you will need at least an 800w PSU
The components I am running suck up 680w on a 750w PSU
If you get 2 WD 160gb SATA drives they are very fast. 160's are single platters so they usually run at a slightly higher speed. I believe they have an 8.9ms rating
...and yes performance wise the Silverstones kick butt :) lol
otherwise nice rig ^^
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 04:40 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

How much of that draw is your TEC cooler?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 09:53 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 373

My System Specs

Default

BCCHardware - Come Frag With Us @ LANtabulous! - CoolIT Eliminator TEC Powered Cooler

It's really impressive how well the Eliminator works :)
I was mainly looking at his choices and the fact that he wants to go SLI on 2x 8800GTX cards with an OC on a E6600 you're looking at a serious power draw. It takes 2x 4point connectors for each card and everything I have read lately recommends at least 800w
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2007, 10:48 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, If I were buying a dual 8800gtx overclocking system, I would probably get 800W just for good measure- I was just surprised by how much juice yours was using.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Upgrade Jordan CPU's and Motherboards 15 October 22, 2007 07:56 AM
Budget system Wiked CPU's and Motherboards 15 October 13, 2007 02:49 AM
New System! :) Kandorf Troubleshooting 2 October 3, 2007 03:24 PM
I need some help with a new system SirenOfDarkness Troubleshooting 0 September 7, 2007 07:51 PM