Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2008, 01:13 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default Does the Intel 5100 Chipset Support Crossfire?

Hello, I was wondering if anyone here knows if the 5100 (San Clemente) Xeon chipset supports Crossfire? I've got my eye on a nice dual Xeon board, and I'd like to stick a pair of 4870X2s on it when they come out.
I know the 5400 (Seaburg, a la Skulltrail) does, but can't seem to get an answer on the 5100.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 10:15 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

You'll have to look at some motherboards at the manufacturers' website because I have no idea. It should say there.

EDIT: So I took a look and it looks like it's only a memory controller hub. This will not support crossfire. I looked at some of the pics of some motherboards and they usually (99%) only have ONE PCI-E slot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 10:54 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,502

My System Specs

Default

Skulltrail is the only enthusiast based dual CPU board even on the market.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2008, 11:31 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
EDIT: So I took a look and it looks like it's only a memory controller hub. This will not support crossfire. I looked at some of the pics of some motherboards and they usually (99%) only have ONE PCI-E slot.
Are you sure? Because most server and workstation board I've seen have more than one PCIe slot.

As for an enthusiast board, I'm actually looking at a workstation board. Cheaper and uses normal ECC RAM rather than FB RAM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 9, 2008, 01:37 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleF View Post
Are you sure? Because most server and workstation board I've seen have more than one PCIe slot.

As for an enthusiast board, I'm actually looking at a workstation board. Cheaper and uses normal ECC RAM rather than FB RAM.
Thos slots your looking at on server mobos,arent meant to carry digital video data. They are meant for installing a real raid card, or maybe two really high end adaptec raid cards, or maybe even an fiber optic modem to connect your network to like a T3 fiber line, OR! all of the above!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 10:12 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

What's the difference matter to the motherboard if it's moving data around versus data? Not much.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2008, 11:00 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

PCIe is PCIe is PCIe....it doesnt matter what you put in there bud....
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2008, 11:34 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Terrace, BC
Posts: 558
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
PCIe is PCIe is PCIe....it doesnt matter what you put in there bud....

Hmm, thats a trivial thing eh? Last time I looked, those server PCI slots, are like 64 BIt. And might be only PCI 8X. They arent PCI-x or whatever the newest standard is called for graphics accelerators. Might as well just go back to AGP 8X if using anything other than the 5400 chipset.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2008, 01:50 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,727
Default

You are talking about PCI-X. PCIe or Express is a standard bus. Yes, some are only 8X slots, but realistically even the top of the line videocards we have today will not saturate that bus. Look at most SLI or crossfire boards, they are mostly 8x 8x electrical, even though they are the same size as X16 slots.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2008, 10:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tazer-[X] View Post
Hmm, thats a trivial thing eh? Last time I looked, those server PCI slots, are like 64 BIt.
When was the last time you saw a video card that was PCI and supports Crossfire? There aren't any. They're only supported in PCIe slots.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes