Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2018, 07:45 PM
Groove's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ottawa(ish)
Posts: 414

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post
Exactly.
Yes you need a "malicious" software if you think about the issue being someone wanting to steal your personal data. What I meant was simply the fact that even "legitimate" applications may be privy to stuff they aren't suppose to see just by the way they handle data manipulated by the predictor.
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old January 11, 2018, 08:04 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 501

My System Specs

Default

software isn't malicious...people are malicious.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=seH3bsymNJ4
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2018, 12:33 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,637
Default

I dunno if this has been posted here or not, but pretty interesting - graphs of performance hits experiences on various services;

https://imgur.com/a/zYRap

Looks like anything that heavily uses UDP, or high memory IO (PostgreSQL, redis, etc) is pretty badly hit
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old January 12, 2018, 05:11 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 501

My System Specs

Default

so, who's patched their BIOS' for these flaws?
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2018, 06:02 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

been seriously considering going AMD since this news surfaced. Can use an upgrade anyway.. Safe bet?! what you guys think, pull the trigger?

Last edited by Lima; January 13, 2018 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2018, 07:52 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 501

My System Specs

Default

AMD does suffer from some of these issues, despite their initial claim of not.

from the looks of it, almost every CPU made, is affected. the only one I haven't heard being affected is anything RISC. anyone know if RISC is affected by either of these flaws?

that said, as has been pointed out, regular computing and gaming have low single digit hits on performance, if any at all. it's only the high end server operations that really used the predictive technologies that have been hit, and even then it's the low double digits.

what will be interesting to see is whether the chip makers fix the bug in the architecture so they can continue to use the feature safely and without any sort of performance impact.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old January 13, 2018, 08:53 PM
Lima's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Laval, Qc
Posts: 591

My System Specs

Default

fix or new architecture will most probably come down to what will be easier/cost efficient am guessing
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2018, 06:53 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Chilliwack...Time Is Just A Rubber Band....
Posts: 397
Default

Would the behavior of a malicious program that exploits this vulnerability not be easily detectable by AV?
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old January 14, 2018, 05:58 PM
Mr. Friendly's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 501

My System Specs

Default

that's a good point, Valkyrie...though I'm not sure what's necessary to exploit the vulnerabilities these two flaws have.

you would think, though, eh?
Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old January 15, 2018, 04:16 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 328

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Valkyrie View Post
Would the behavior of a malicious program that exploits this vulnerability not be easily detectable by AV?
Let me ask the developers in our CZ office when I get to work, I'm sure they would have thought of this by now. (I work for a company that develops AV ;-) )

I imagine that updating virus definitions to detect something might be a problem if there are no known malicious variants in the wild though which could be a reason why we see no specifics from AV vendors on this yet. Hard to defend against something that doesn't exist yet.

Perhaps some behavior shield type protections that have more ties into the OS may be able to, but perhaps right now it's an unknown due to what I said above? I'm merely speculating though as it's beyond my level of expertise.
__________________
Code:
System.Environment.Exit(new Random().Next(1, Int32.MaxValue));

Last edited by stlouis1; January 15, 2018 at 04:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First time in a very long time on 290x's and 7970's OC working fine with 3rd party OC sf101 Video Cards 2 December 9, 2017 09:03 PM
First time watching TV in a long time jibz Off Topic 12 January 23, 2012 12:42 PM
[WTT] GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard For Video Card or CPU gerardfraser Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 19, 2010 03:15 PM
[WTB] blue ray movies ( will be updated with more from time to time) kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 3 September 2, 2009 04:20 AM