Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2017, 09:31 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,063
Default

SKYMTL: When will you be getting the Core i3-8350K to review?
__________________
Heatware
HWBOT
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2017, 12:21 PM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 526

My System Specs

Default

BF1 multiplayer with 64 players is definitely smother on 6/12 SL than on 4/8 IB.
C:S is way better on 6/12 SL than on 4/8 IB.

Just ordered i5 8400 with cheapest MB on Mike's. Even the cheapest MB has some white LEDs. Damn.
__________________
486
Fractal Design R5 + Seasonic X-660 650W
Asus X299 TUF Mark 2 + Intel i7-7800X + G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 8GB x 4
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + HGST 5400RPM 2TB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2017, 02:27 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 749

My System Specs

Default

Is there an i7 8700 non K review coming? I am interested in the non k version running with multi-core enhancement on and off. From my limited understanding of MCE, it is like a poor man's overclock in that it forces all the cores to run at the highest turbo without actually setting the speeds and voltages yourself. That would leave you at the mercy of the motherboard vendors and their possible aggressive voltage settings to ensure stability I imagine. But since the i7 8700 has a 1 core turbo listed at 4.6 GHz it would be interesting to see if MCE can make all 6 cores run at 4.6 GHz.

The question earlier in the thread had me looking up MCE and realizing that I don't know a heck of a lot about that BIOS/MB feature! Is there an article here on HWC that covers it. I know it has been around for a while since my Asus P8Z77 Pro MB has it in the BIOS for my i7 3770k CPU.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus Prime Z370-A : i7 8700k : Corsair Vengeance 32 GB DDR4-3000 : Corsair RM650x PSU : Corsair H100i V2: Fractal Design Meshify C : EVGA GTX 1080 :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : : Corsair H100 : Sapphire HD 6670 : Corsair 650D: Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Tablet - Samsung Tab A 10.1"
Wife's Rig - MSI GL72M 7RDX
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2017, 03:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,018

My System Specs

Default

I believe they put a stop to MCE on non-K chips with Haswell and above, unless the restriction was lifted again for Coffee Lake but that seems highly doubtful.

BCLK overclocking existed for Skylake for a short time and was advertised on some Bioses but Intel quickly put a stop via manufacturers issuing new BIOS/UEFI updates and pulling the old ones.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2017, 04:10 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 749

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vittra View Post
I believe they put a stop to MCE on non-K chips with Haswell and above, unless the restriction was lifted again for Coffee Lake but that seems highly doubtful.

BCLK overclocking existed for Skylake for a short time and was advertised on some Bioses but Intel quickly put a stop via manufacturers issuing new BIOS/UEFI updates and pulling the old ones.
Ah, TANSTAFL!
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus Prime Z370-A : i7 8700k : Corsair Vengeance 32 GB DDR4-3000 : Corsair RM650x PSU : Corsair H100i V2: Fractal Design Meshify C : EVGA GTX 1080 :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : : Corsair H100 : Sapphire HD 6670 : Corsair 650D: Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Tablet - Samsung Tab A 10.1"
Wife's Rig - MSI GL72M 7RDX
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2017, 05:21 AM
darksideleader's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 127
Default

With the non-k chips, I know their "locked" but can the multiplier still be adjusted manually within the throttle and turbo ranges?

So with the i5 8400, is the max multiplier 28 for 100x28 for the base 2.8ghz? Can the multiplier be set to say 40 since the max single core turbo clock is 4ghz?

Or they don't let you touch the multiplier at all on the non-k chips nowadays?
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2017, 05:44 AM
BALISTX's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 2,063
Default

You can lower the multiplier but you cannot increase it past what it is set to. You can overclock via base clock but not sure how much more you will get out of the base clock.
__________________
Heatware
HWBOT
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2017, 08:47 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,776

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Monday / Tuesday follow up content: i7-2600K vs 8700K. Overclocked and stock of course.

Any requests for settings, etc? I'll be using a more "basic" GTX 1060 for this one since there has been some complaints about the use of a TITAN XP in the reviews.

Considering an 8700K + mobo + memory will likely put you back (~$700) $360+$150+$150 I was thinking of adding in the 2600K + GTX 1080 Ti as a comparison that looks at JUST upgrading the GPU for less money.
I am still using 2500K on an z77 board lol but I am curious and really am on the edge of upgrading my system so I am looking forward to seeing this ok not seeing but reading this lol
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2017, 09:57 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
With the non-k chips, I know their "locked" but can the multiplier still be adjusted manually within the throttle and turbo ranges?

So with the i5 8400, is the max multiplier 28 for 100x28 for the base 2.8ghz? Can the multiplier be set to say 40 since the max single core turbo clock is 4ghz?

Or they don't let you touch the multiplier at all on the non-k chips nowadays?

Multiplier is 28 base. All cores can go up to 38, single core - up to 40.
I suspect you may set all cores at 40, but that's that.

Stock 7800X can go up to 40 on all cores, so it should be fairly close.
__________________
486
Fractal Design R5 + Seasonic X-660 650W
Asus X299 TUF Mark 2 + Intel i7-7800X + G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 8GB x 4
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + HGST 5400RPM 2TB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2017, 02:41 PM
darksideleader's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 486 View Post
I am really an old guy. I cannot understand why certain part which goes inside a box has to look good. I remember times when overclocking meant getting the cheap part and running it reliably at the specs of expensive part. Now it is all about getting ridiculously expensive part, turning it up so it is no longer useful, then bragging about it. So shallow. Apologies for the rant. Yeah, hurrah for the Godlike.
Well its become hobby with the liquid nitrogen and competitions, and I guess in the industry loves it since it can up-sell everything from the case fans to ram if its an OC EXTREME edition with flashy leds to top it off.

I'd like to see if people are able to enable MCE on the unlocked chips and how reliable it can be. Might be a way to save a few bucks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel officially announces 8th gen Coffee Lake Lysrin CPU's and Motherboards 14 October 4, 2017 06:53 AM
Will coffee lake be available for purchase on Monday? supaflyx3 CPU's and Motherboards 30 September 14, 2017 02:19 PM
Should I wait for Coffee Lake? fubar New Builds 16 August 29, 2017 12:44 PM