Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2017, 01:59 AM
1oooooo00's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 16
Default is there an advantage to Intel's memory vs AMD on 4 memory channels

is there an advantage to Intel's memory vs AMD on 4 memory channels ?

AMD 1920/1950 Works each processor sends to two memory channels

intel sends from CPU to all 4 memory channels ?
is this an advantage ?
how does this manifest itself ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2017, 07:21 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,785
Default

Intel's mem design is technically more optimal... but it depends on your work load. If you are using say core 1+2 in CCX block 1 and core 3+4 in CCX block 4 (ie dif 'ryzen chips' in TR) AND are using all four cores for the exact same app AND accessing all for channels of the ram at the same time... some data has to cross the Infinity Fabric (and then be copied into cache etc etc) which is slower with higher latency. In reality the dif is minor as the scheduling manager tries to ensure all in-flight data from the mem bus is in the same block (optimally same CCX, but same two block CCX if that is not possible).

Honestly with 16cores and 32 threads vs Intel's smaller HEDT means the overall performance on AMD will/should be higher for the same or less cash. Its really only going to be a consideration for peeps who can afford the mega Intel options AND can make full use of them. Most peeps will never max out 12 cores let alone 16 for long enough to notice the dif in how AMD vs Intel does it.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2017, 07:49 AM
Ravenor's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Oakville, Ontario
Posts: 288

My System Specs

Default

As always AKG, your information of thorough and sage like. No, i'm not joking when i say that.
__________________
Roy: [singing] We don't need no education.
Moss: Yes you do; you've just used a double negative
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 14, 2017, 10:47 AM
Bao Bao is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 382
Default

I learned things just now.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2017, 04:54 AM
1oooooo00's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 16
Default

AkG - Really nothing to do with anything, just answers with edits on nothing!
Really nothing to do with anything, just answers with edits on nothing!

Quote:
" Intel's mem design is technically more optimal... but it depends on your work load "
more optimal for what ?
depends on your work load for what ?
what is " work load " for you?

If
Quote:
you are using say core 1+2 in CCX block 1 and core 3+4 in CCX block 4(ie dif 'ryzen chips' in TR)
Again nonsense, it has nothing to do with anything
I do OC to all processors

Quote:
(optimally same CCX, but same two block CCX if that is not possible).
whatttttttttt

Quote:
Honestly with 16cores and 32 threads vs Intel's smaller HEDT means the overall performance on AMD will/should be higher for the same or less cash.
honestly Intel's NOT have smaller HEDT with 16cores and 32 threads Still

Quote:
overall performance on AMD will/should be higher for the same or less cash.
Again saying nothing, there are different command methods for AMD processors and Intel chips
Works differently and gives different results

Unfortunately, all the tests do not check the quality of the premiere or image or the performance of the work, only speed.

Quote:
Most peeps will never max out 12 cores let alone 16 for long enough to notice the dif in how AMD vs Intel does it.
whattttttt?
i have no idea what you write and on what, I can use video software in all processors easily

honestly everything you write has nothing to do with anything
my question was about Intel's memory vs AMD on 4 memory channels

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2017, 05:13 AM
Bartacus's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Ottawa, Canuckistan
Posts: 239

My System Specs

Default

Jesus dude, would you STOP with the insults and your STUPID posts?!?! You sound like you're about 12 years old and have ZERO knowledge about tech stuff. Stop polluting this forum with your moron questions and maybe learn how to READ and how to do some actual research on your own.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2017, 05:49 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,668

My System Specs

Default

Can this guy just get banned already, this contributes nothing. Well aside from AkGs through answer.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2017, 06:04 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1oooooo00 View Post
AkG - Really nothing to do with anything, just answers with edits on nothing!
Really nothing to do with anything, just answers with edits on nothing!


more optimal for what ?
depends on your work load for what ?
what is " work load " for you?

If

Again nonsense, it has nothing to do with anything
I do OC to all processors



whatttttttttt



honestly Intel's NOT have smaller HEDT with 16cores and 32 threads Still


Again saying nothing, there are different command methods for AMD processors and Intel chips
Works differently and gives different results

Unfortunately, all the tests do not check the quality of the premiere or image or the performance of the work, only speed.



whattttttt?
i have no idea what you write and on what, I can use video software in all processors easily

honestly everything you write has nothing to do with anything
my question was about Intel's memory vs AMD on 4 memory channels

Ok I think either you are on the spectrum or are now just trolling badly. I laid out the answer to your question. I was polite and actually took you seriously. I explained in detail why it does not matter all that much in the real world under normal working conditions. Instead of asking for clarification you came back with a poorly worded ad ignorantiam fallacy. Honestly if you are going to troll, you have to do better than that. I give you a score of 1 out of 10 as you did not use any bait, nor did you even try to put any effort into your troll. You just spewed words in seemingly random order. Step up your game and come back in a few years and then maybe it would be enjoyable to slap you down. Right now you are just boring. This is coming from a master class troll.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2017, 06:39 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 482

My System Specs

Default

Intel IMC tend to be better than AMD IMC. It affects 2-channel CPUs to a certain degree. 4-channel would not suffer as much from IMC as from the configuration of the interconnect.
__________________
486
Fractal Design R5 + Seasonic X-660 650W
Asus X299 TUF Mark 2 + Intel i7-7800X + G.Skill Ripjaws V 3200 8GB x 4
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB + Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + HGST 5400RPM 2TB
Evga GTX 1080 FTW 8GB + BenQ BL3201PH 4K 32"
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 15, 2017, 06:55 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is online now
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 486 View Post
Intel IMC tend to be better than AMD IMC. It affects 2-channel CPUs to a certain degree. 4-channel would not suffer as much from IMC as from the configuration of the interconnect.
Yup and since AMD uses a mesh/crossbar interconnect (Infinty Fabric) and Intel is also using a mesh (called 'untile' IIRC) instead of Ringbus now, the real world differences may be less than expected. But I was dumb'ing it down and using the assumption that Intel's Mesh is not as... unrefined... as AMDs first gen interconnect. As this was an off the cuff answer.
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr

Last edited by AkG; September 15, 2017 at 07:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Patriot Memory Announces New AMD Black Edition Ready G2 Series Memory Kits Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 0 June 14, 2011 09:57 AM
G.Skill Releases the World's Fastest Memory, DDR3 2500 MHz Dual-Channel Memory Kit FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 10 April 14, 2010 07:49 AM
Intel and Micron to announce 25nm flash memory r0bc Rumor Mill 2 January 31, 2010 03:00 PM
OCZ Memory owners: Try your memory at lower Volts sswilson RAM 0 October 24, 2008 07:36 AM
OCZ Unveils New DDR3 Memory Kits With Intel XMP MAC Press Releases & Tech News 1 July 4, 2008 05:06 AM