Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 12:25 PM
J2TheROC's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sunnyvale Trailer Park
Posts: 19
Default Intel Affinity Patch?

Hi guys, I recently built my new comp which is using a q6600 G0, and someone told me there is a patch for intel procs? having to do with better core management or something like that?

Does anyone know the correct term, or could someone link the patch up for me as I cant seem to find it on the intel site?

Also part 2

When flashing my bios, do I have to reverse my overclock before I do it?

THanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 12:36 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Always revert to stock settings when flashing the BIOS.

Tends to stop the gremlins from getting in. ;)
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 01:29 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Umm, I never heard of an affinity patch for Intel Proc.
In a way is doesn’t makes sense, affinity is an OS function.
Affinity refers to which core a Process or Thread is able to run on.
There may be a patch from MS to optimize it.
I know there are utilities to tweak your programs affinity, but you can also do that in the windows task manager.
There’s really no reason to though.

Edit:
Did a few searches and found nothing about an affinity patch for Intel Proc’s
or windows, just a few vague references to a Linux patch for affinity but no links.
sorry.

Last edited by DK2; May 23, 2008 at 01:47 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 02:00 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

There is one that quad core folders often use (might find some mention of it in our folding thread), but I've always just set affinity manually in processes, or not bothered (I never noticed a difference when I set affinity).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 07:15 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
There is one that quad core folders often use (might find some mention of it in our folding thread), but I've always just set affinity manually in processes, or not bothered (I never noticed a difference when I set affinity).
Ya, usually its for running specific programs or games.
If somebody takes the time to analyze the tasking you can usually tweak the threads
for the best performance better than windows does.
I have one for Supreme commander, never noticed any ‘real’ difference though.
But I use it anyways, makes me feel better.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes