Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2008, 05:03 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default Getting southbridge temps.

Hello,
Does any one know of a software that can read the temps for my southbridge chipset and memory controller. I know Intel own motherboard's with there software shows these temps, but does other manufactures boards using Intel chipsets show these temps or is that up to the manufacture to implement. My board is a Asus P5K-E/WiFi-AP (P35 chipset). Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2008, 05:42 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,945

My System Specs

Default

I think it's up to the board manufacture to put temp sensors in...

I know my Maximus Formula has NB and SB temps but not memory controller (didn't know that was even possible).

I don't think any of the other "lower" lines of ASUS boards have those NB and SB sensors though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2008, 06:50 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for your reply jdrom17, that sucks about the sensors. About the memory controller temp I saw this pic at another forum from a user with a Intel board.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2008, 07:42 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,945

My System Specs

Default

That's the Northbridge, which the memory controller is in so I guess that makes sense.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2008, 08:23 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

put your finger on the southbridge, if you get slapped, upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2008, 06:11 AM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
That's the Northbridge, which the memory controller is in so I guess that makes sense.
I see, makes sense.

Quote:
put your finger on the southbridge, if you get slapped, upgrade.
LOL. I think it's fine I did the finger test a while back and it was just warm to the touch, was just curious if I could get the temps with software, guess not.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes