Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 08:06 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default E8400 on ?

:rtfm:
i jsut got the E8400 no board all thanks to a error by a guy i bought a p5n32 Sli off, told me it was the E version turns out it doesnt support the cpu. Gonna sell the P5n32 sli to get some funds to try and get a nice Sli board for my E8400.

heres my problem wat to get. i want the cheapest board possible to run that processor and gimme some items to overclock to around 4ghz. and handle 2 8800gts 640 mb. with my ocz power supply i think it should be ok. but waht board would be the cheapst with sli and not all the bells and wisstles
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 08:30 AM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

nVidia 750i motherboards :

- eVGA 750i
- Asus 750i

Cheapest SLI solutions that support Penryn cores.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 09:40 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,428
Default

The EVGA 750i is really nice, I have it. However I will warn you that there is a currently fairly serious bug with it.

Basically the SATA ports get locked if you try and use RAID on the mobo. So if you have two HDD;s on SATA and a DVD SATA; if you try and set up raid it thinks that you are using all four SATA ports; so then it won't boot because the mobo is trying to raid together the HDD's with the DVD drive. The only workaround right now is to use an IDE CD/DVD device if you plan to run RAID on the 750i. EVGA said they will fix it ASAP of course; so we shall see. Other than that the board is amazing, I love mine to death and it's been easy to work with so far.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 10:22 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

welkl i have 2 sat drives and ide cd and dvd drives willin to run one in the mean time its jsut the cost that is killing me and i cant get Shi*t for this p5n32sli anymore just cause it doesnt support the new cpu's wish i could send it off someweare and get some value for it
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2008, 04:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 8,035

My System Specs

Default

I think it would be best to sell one of your GTS and get a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L since it seems like you don't have a ton of money left.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2008, 05:55 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

i might end up doin that thanks for the suggestion u interested?? lol
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2008, 01:31 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

Asus P5KC good or bad?? gettin it for $100 after taxes
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2008, 03:31 PM
paphman910's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rapid-X View Post
Asus P5KC good or bad?? gettin it for $100 after taxes
It is a good price. I would go for GA-P35-DS3L instead of the Asus P5kc if you are on a budget and plan not to use DDR3 RAM.


Paphman910

Last edited by paphman910; May 9, 2008 at 03:38 PM. Reason: errors
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes