Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 12:02 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,415

My System Specs

Default thinking of switching to FM2+

I am starting to notice that I really don't do much serious gaming any more I have two systems one is an older i5 2500k with a 560ti vid card works great for gaming .
but I spend almost all of my time on my main system watching vids surking the net checking out the forums here and email so I really don't need this system which probably usues allot of juice
this system is
Sabertooth 990fx with amd 6core 1100t with 8 gb ram hd7770 amd vid card plugged into my Samsung 27"LCD tv, 120 SSD and a 2TB Hard drive
not sure of a cheap FM2+ build that will use less electricity but still be good enough what I use this system for
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 01:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: GTA
Posts: 160
Default

I have a FM2 A4 I've been using for about a year on the TV.
Wireless keyboard with touchpad and a mouse hooked up to it.
Works okay for light browsing, and just fine for all the video you can throw at it; HD blu-ray etc.
Whole thing cost about $200.

Pretty much at HD 4000 levels so can't really game anything that isn't older, but I haven't really tried putting anything taxing on it.
Looking at a 750Ti for light gaming (and if your TV supports it potentially 4K).

Personally I'd go with the cheapest system that will run well and use a 750Ti which has good capabilities with a ridiculously low TDP.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 05:01 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,415

My System Specs

Default

thanks for the Idea will check out
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 05:41 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,735

My System Specs

Default

If you're not going to be gaming at all on it, how about an AM1 system? Low power requirements and some of the motherboards are configured to use a laptop power brick instead of a PSU.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 05:50 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If you're not going to be gaming at all on it, how about an AM1 system? Low power requirements and some of the motherboards are configured to use a laptop power brick instead of a PSU.
AM1 where do I find something like that?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 06:20 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,735

My System Specs

Default

My sig might point the way.... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 06:56 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,415

My System Specs

Default

hehe I Didn't notice that before .
How did you get the power brick to work with the motherboard? oh ok I just noticed that it has 2 power inputs lol

Last edited by Shadowmeph; August 3, 2014 at 07:14 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 08:13 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,602

My System Specs

Default

The power brick is a standard laptop power brick that supplies I think it's 19W. You can get cheaper models that just require internal power like from a normal power supply.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 08:16 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,415

My System Specs

Default

I am not even sure what wattage to look for
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2014, 08:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,735

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arinoth View Post
The power brick is a standard laptop power brick that supplies I think it's 19W. You can get cheaper models that just require internal power like from a normal power supply.
Yeah, but my targus brick cost something like $25 and it'd be hard to find a decent PSU for $50 so there's an extra $25 to go towards the MB. :)

My biggest complaint these days would be how hard it is to find an M350 case, and there really don't seem to be any other cases in that form factor readily available in canada. (I had it from an earlier build attempt).

There's also the pentium G anny dual core for $70 and a H81 MB for $90. :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I am not even sure what wattage to look for
It would be listed under the specs for the motherboard.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
fm2+ , new build

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switching From AMD-Intel cpu Shadowmeph HardwareCanucks F@H Team 7 January 29, 2013 08:29 PM
Switching from Nvidia to ATI duffman03 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 April 30, 2010 04:13 PM
Switching from Nvidia to Ati. TimTheEnchanter Video Cards 15 April 7, 2009 04:44 PM
Is switching these ram worth it? slisgrinder RAM 10 October 31, 2008 08:10 PM
HD Switching Fake2591 Troubleshooting 7 July 5, 2007 01:21 PM