Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 26, 2014, 09:43 AM
Rookie

Post Why Not an AMD ??..Is Going Economical a compromise ?

Hello Folks ! I am new to PC building and Hardware. I am not looking just for easy answers but very much willing to do further research once i get some directions..So Please help me out here..

I want to build my first PC for Video Editing so i started my research about the CPU first. Got to know that Intel dual Xeons and hexa core extreme editions are the top notch choices among the industry professionals below that stand i7 hexa cores K series and then comes i7 quad core cpus. Mostly people recommend at least an Intel i7 quad core cpu for a Video Editing Workstation.

Its not like i am trying to defy their wisdom but genuinely curious about 'Why Not an AMD ?' Fx-8350 has 8 cores, 4.00 GHz (Oced up to 4.20 GHz), 4*2 MB L2 and 8 MB L3 cache. i guess higher TDPs and no iGPU can not be significant enough reasons.. I have seen the benchmark comparisons across the internet but can anyone explain what makes Intel's Quick Sync, Hyper Threading and other technologies beat the AMD CPUs in popularity?

I have been doing some Video Editing on Windows Movie Maker on my hp laptop (i3-3110M 2.40 GHz). That's my only practical experience with the Video Editing and i Love doing it and decided for an upgrade but don't have enough budget for even i7 Quad core.

I am purchasing recently launched Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ1000 which records Videos up to @ 100 Mbps and has 1" Image Sensor. I would like to dabble my hands in creative things like Chroma Key, 2D/3D Animation, live action & Animation compositing with various VFXs. So i will be working with a few layers of Videos and VFXs within a single frame. My source footage will be 1080p mp4 or avchd @ 28 Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ1000 Review: Digital Photography Review