Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 12:07 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 414
Default

Buy a mac mini for $600 and call it a day. When it comes to content creation, video editing in your case, software on Windows is terrible and inefficient.

People overestimate hardware when it is, in fact, the software that is holding things back.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 01:34 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: India
Posts: 18
Default

Would definitely try mac in future but not for now i am really looking forward to built my first pc myself and pretty excited about it
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 01:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: India
Posts: 18
Default

Well these tic-toc tactics of the manufacturers !

What is Power phase? It is said that it should be minimum 8+2 for overclocking..Please help me explain...
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 04:23 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,628

My System Specs

Default

It is the circuitry that deliver the power from the PSU to the CPU and memory controller. To help improve the power delivery more phases are required, 8 in this case for the CPU and 2 for the memory controller and northbridge. With more power phases the CPU can be fed more current in a smooth manner, avoiding spikes, which aids in overclocking.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 06:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: India
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks for a nice and concise explanation about power phase, guess i got some handle on it now.
But strangely couldn't find information about power phase in specifications list of the various manufacturers except Gigabyte.

Last edited by TortVoice; August 1, 2014 at 06:34 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 08:11 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

The number of power phases doesn't really mean much. For example, you can use phase multipliers to make that 8-phase setup into a so-called "16-phase" design without actually adding any load capacity.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 08:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: India
Posts: 18
Default

Please bear with my ignorance here...You mean it is possible within some settings in BIOS or Phase multiplier is a separate gadget all together...
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 09:52 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

No. Basically a phase multiplier is something that motherboard manufacturers install onto their products in order to increase the number of VRM phases without actually upping the PWM capacity.

For example, a "24 phase" motherboard would have 24 driver MOSFETs and 24 chokes. In order to properly feed that most boards don't use a 24 phase PWM. Rather, they use a 6-phase PWM which is then fed into two concentric sets of phase multipliers (6 to 12 and then 12 to 24) which gives them a so-called "24 phase" board. In the end though, there's only a 6-phase PWM backing it up so the usual bottlenecks will be in place.

All I am saying is that you shouldn't put too much stock in the number of phases a board has.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2014, 11:53 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: India
Posts: 18
Default

Umm... ! those details are a bit difficult to comprehend and my face expressions might be resembling your Avatar's when i was reading them.

But Yeah i got the message there in the last line
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2014, 06:28 PM
Phill's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Morden MB
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
All I am saying is that you shouldn't put too much stock in the number of phases a board has.
QFT...

If nothing else TortVoice, I am sure you can understand that.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
amd , cpu , intel , video editing , workstation

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UBB Compromise is Almost a Step in The Right Direction; Comment Thread SKYMTL Networking 47 August 11, 2012 12:43 AM
Looking for a case with good compromise on air flow/noise Damian Cases 18 March 20, 2009 05:15 PM
Economical Rig for F@H, and Light Gaming. BALISTX New Builds 7 November 10, 2008 08:36 PM