Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2014, 07:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Default Help with my cpu

Hi
i have in my laptop cpu pentium dual core t4500

i wanted to change it and i found in wikipedia my socket (Socket P) support many high cpus

and this is the site

Socket P - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


look at the right side and you will see the details.

is this true i can upgrade to core 2 duo and core 2 quad ???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2014, 01:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,955

My System Specs

Default

Just because its the same socket doesn't mean the laptop is compatible. You will have to check that the motherboard (bios) is compatible, and if it is, then you need to check if your power brick is sufficient to handle it, and if the heatsink currently in the laptop can cool the higher performing chip. Laptops aren't nice and easy like a desktop.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2014, 04:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
Just because its the same socket doesn't mean the laptop is compatible. You will have to check that the motherboard (bios) is compatible, and if it is, then you need to check if your power brick is sufficient to handle it, and if the heatsink currently in the laptop can cool the higher performing chip. Laptops aren't nice and easy like a desktop.
how to check all this ?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2014, 05:03 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,607
Default

Research and I don't suggest doing it. I did it once and the cooling system wasn't up to par and I had to swap back.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2014, 12:15 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

Your CPU is based on the Penryn (~Wolfdale: Intel Core 2 series) at 35 watts. I recommend looking for a CPU with the same wattage.

It is best to look at the laptop model series. Check the 'base model' and look at what other configurations (higher cpus) the laptop could have had included for purchase. Buy the highest model 'cpu'.

Also update the BIOS of your laptop before buying and installing a higher CPU.
Google your model number or base model to see what cpu configurations it sold with.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2014, 10:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by justmehereajax View Post
Your CPU is based on the Penryn (~Wolfdale: Intel Core 2 series) at 35 watts. I recommend looking for a CPU with the same wattage.

It is best to look at the laptop model series. Check the 'base model' and look at what other configurations (higher cpus) the laptop could have had included for purchase. Buy the highest model 'cpu'.

Also update the BIOS of your laptop before buying and installing a higher CPU.
Google your model number or base model to see what cpu configurations it sold with.
i searched in wiki and i saw this

img host

the 2 red squares which i saw that cpus fits my laptop and want to see your opinion
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2014, 11:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 47

My System Specs

Default

What is model number on the laptop sticker label?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2014, 10:17 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperBedo View Post
Hi
i have in my laptop cpu pentium dual core t4500

i wanted to change it and i found in wikipedia my socket (Socket P) support many high cpus

and this is the site

Socket P - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


look at the right side and you will see the details.

is this true i can upgrade to core 2 duo and core 2 quad ???
Actually you want to look for the T series like you have now. I'm not really sure you can slap an e series in there even if the socket is the same.

Here:

Amazon.com: Intel Core 2 Duo T9600 2.80 GHz 6M L2 Cache 1066MHz FSB Socket P Mobile Processor: Electronics

or

Intel Core 2 Duo T9600 2.8 GHz Dual-Core AW80576GH0726M Processor | eBay

I believe the T9600 is the top of the like CPU at the time. There is no turbo, it's not really going to be great put in an old laptop, but for $60 vs buying a newer laptop, probably worth the try.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2014, 05:03 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,955

My System Specs

Default

I really wouldn't bother, unless you get the new CPU dirt cheap (for me I wouldn't go more than $20 in an attempt to get a better CPU in there) and have the spare time to change the CPU and maybe switch back again if you have an issue. Otherwise pocket the couple dollars towards a new laptop.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes