Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2014, 07:01 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

I'm not sure why but there's something really enticing about this processor. Like something you know you SHOULDN'T do but say "hell, why not?".

Things like:

- Buying those purple pants even though you know all the hipsters have them

- Hooking up with the semi-ugly chick because you know she's a riot between the sheets

- Taking the black diamond ski trail even though you're a beginner

And so on....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2014, 07:08 AM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 495

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I'm not sure why but there's something really enticing about this processor. Like something you know you SHOULDN'T do but say "hell, why not?".

Things like:

- Buying those purple pants even though you know all the hipsters have them

- Hooking up with the semi-ugly chick because you know she's a riot between the sheets

- Taking the black diamond ski trail even though you're a beginner

And so on....
Exactly, it's like you know this is a pretty stupid processor and yet there's just something about it. You know it's just an overclocked CPU but then people ask why did you get it if you knew it was bad, or an overclocked processor. So you say: Just Cause.

EDIT: The AMD website has updated the FX chips section with the "new" water cooled 9590

Last edited by ShinraCorp; June 24, 2014 at 08:06 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2014, 08:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinraCorp View Post
Interesting you say that, since I find that an 8 core CPU that draws at maximum 200W (I think I don't have my numbers with me) is reasonable to me, you may say well Intel draws at around 75 W. Yes but that's 4 cores with or without 8 threads. It may seem inefficient but there's not that huge of a gap.

EDIT: Ok max Intel 3rd gen Is 77 TDP while AMD 8350 is 125W I'm comparing 2012 CPU to a 2012 CPU if you're wondering.
intel has 8 core haswell-e coming soon and TDP is suposed to be like 140watt range. Also they have 8-12 core xeon parts which are clocked lower that range from 95watts for 8 core to around 130watts for 12 core. Those are pretty expensive cpus though even for 8 core one. Also none of them are clocked to 5ghz but probably most of them are still as fast if not faster.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2014, 12:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

Also, not to argue semantics, but there are still those of us who refuse to accept AMD's core counting scheme... their 8 core is at best 5.5 true cores. :)

I sooooo want to see something new from AMD in the enthusiast desktop market in order to finally but the BD fiasco to rest.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2014, 02:12 PM
ShinraCorp's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Gatineau
Posts: 495

My System Specs

Default

It's funny that Toms hardware thinks that it's a new processor. Journalism yaaay.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 24, 2014, 05:57 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 90

My System Specs

Default

I think the reason why they are going to release is so that people who want to overclock, but who do not want to risk losing the silicon lottery have a chip that they can use.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 25, 2014, 05:56 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShinraCorp View Post
It's funny that Toms hardware thinks that it's a new processor. Journalism yaaay.
They can think whatever they want.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2014, 07:31 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Default

The whole core marketing ploy with AMD is a joke. Counting only the amount of integer cores apart from the amount of FPU is kind of a false accusation purely for marketing when the scaling is not even 100%. They can make this claim when steamroller comes out since they will achieve far better parallelism regardless of the amount of FPU's present per module to integer cores, but not for Bulldozer or Piledriver.

That's the same as if Intel were to market their existing Quads with Hyper Threading to instead sell as 8 core cpu's.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Dell 5521" vs "Acer V3-571G" vs "V3-571G SSD" N7pSTR New Builds 3 May 7, 2013 04:03 PM
"BF3.3" Level 10 GT Case Mod is "Locked and Loaded" Mnpctech Cases 2 July 12, 2012 12:18 PM
How do i know if my "Drive Controller" is running in "AHCI mode"? Teo3201 Storage 2 October 8, 2011 09:54 PM