Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2014, 02:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Default CPU is an i7-3770 @3.50 GHz- I Want to Upgrade

My current CPU is an i7-3770 @3.50 GHz, on an ASUS P8Z77- V LX motherboard.

I understand that I have no more CPU upgrade options and even with a GTX 760, I am having trouble running many current games smoothly.

As I am not into overclocking, I figured I just wanted a recommendation for a board and CPU that will give me some obvious improvements, as far as gaming goes, along with the option to upgrade the CPU in the future.

As far as budget goes, I am not really certain, as I am hoping to use my current rig, and just replace the motherboard and CPU. So my budget has limits, but I am not building an entirely new rig, so I am willing to pay for future upgradeability.

I am in the U.S. and prefer an Intel CPU, and am using Windows 8.1.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2014, 03:41 PM
Your_friendly_gamer's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 685

My System Specs

Default

Whats your gpu? I think 3770 is still strong for gaming. What games do you play?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2014, 03:55 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,005

My System Specs

Default

Yeah the 3770 would not be causing a lack of fps. You are either having gpu or driver issues. What resolution do you game at? What games do you play?
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2014, 04:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Default

This is going to sound quite naive, but If you guys aren't referring to the NVidia GTX 760 graphics card I am using, what other gpu would I have? And I am using the current drivers, with 16 GB of ram.

I typically game at 1920x1080, which seems to be the default resolution that NVidia's GeForce Experience sets my games at.

As far as games specifically, recently I have been playing Assassin's Creed 4, Dark Souls 2, Transistor, Wasteland 2, Watchdogs and the latest Wolfenstein. I have even noticed fps loss in Borderlands 2. But Wolfenstein and Watchdogs have been the absolute worst! That's what prompted me to inquire about my CPU. I figured it had to be a bottleneck somewhere and guessed that it must be the CPU.

Last edited by windmark728; June 15, 2014 at 06:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 15, 2014, 06:39 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,005

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by windmark728 View Post
This is going to sound quite naive, but If you guys aren't referring to the NVidia GTX 760 graphics card I am using, what other gpu would I have? And I am using the current drivers, with 16 GB of ram.

I typically game at 1920x1080, which seems to be the default resolution that NVidia's GeForce Experience sets my games at.

As far as games specifically, recently I have been playing Assassin's Creed 4, Dark Souls 2, Transistor, Wasteland 2, Watchdogs and the latest Wolfenstein. I have even noticed fps loss in Borderlands 2. But Wolfenstein and Watchdogs have been the absolute worst! That's what prompted me to inquire about my CPU. I figured it had to be a bottleneck somewhere and guessed that it must be the CPU.
a 3770, 16gb ram, gtx 760 should have no issues pushing excellent FPS @1080p. Possible driver or overheating graphics card maybe? A gtx 760 is a great card, but for the most part it will limit your FPS before the 3770 will, so it is not your issue (unless for some odd reason it is overheating and throttling...which I doubt). Do you have good airflow in your case?

Install MSI afterburner and check what the GPU temps are. Also check and see if maybe you are maxing out the VRAM.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2014, 04:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 106
Default

The cpu is fine for gaming. I have had a 3770K for the last 12 months or so and only recently will be swapping out for the 4790K. I play games at 2560x1440. If you want my opinion, spend your budget on a better gpu, leave the cpu alone.

You could add another 760 for sli, which would be the easiest option, or sell the 760 and buy a 780/780Ti or if you want to go AMD 290/290X. I assure you, these would give you a very nice boost at 1920 res...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2014, 11:47 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 745

My System Specs

Default

I have a 3770k and I am no were near CPU limited in games at higher resolutions then you (I play at 1920x1200). IT is not your CPU causing issues. Just fire up your performance manager and look to see how much CPU your are using while gaming. I guarantee you have lots of CPU room left and there is something else causing your slowdowns.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2014, 04:32 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,826

My System Specs

Default

Short story, you have some other kind of issue,

Good news: It shouldn't cost as much
Bad news: It could be a bit of a headach to figure out what exactly is wrong but if you want to try figure it out there will be plenty of suggestions.

Personally, go with checking the gpu first,
Get monitoring of temps etc (afterburner like mentioned above or CPUID HWmonitor or similar),
Then look for and run a stress test/ benchmark and see what temps you get and score(if a benchmark)

If it all looks ok for temps and gpu score we might start looking at driver issues, possible virus / spyware etc.. It'll be a process of elimination unless you can explain whats happening better, and even then it could be a simple fix / setting or it may be a faulty part, or it could be too much bloat on your system (though I have nearly the same rig and there is no amount of stuff I have open without effect on games.)
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2014, 05:17 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

if looking for better performance id say change out your gpu, but as others have suggested already see what is slowing your system down first, then make your decision as to if you need to replace things...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 23, 2014, 04:22 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 100

My System Specs

Default

There is no point I'd say in upgrading your CPU and motherboard to Haswell. I'd focus on getting a new GPU with the money.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 3770 not stable at 3.9 ghz.. demon08 CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 10, 2013 03:42 PM
i7 3770 prob with cores !!!! demon08 CPU's and Motherboards 7 September 9, 2013 08:14 PM
i7 3770 stable or not ? demon08 CPU's and Motherboards 0 September 5, 2013 02:13 PM
i7 3770 wow they overclock but damn they get hot!!! Soullessone21 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 62 May 8, 2013 08:54 PM
is this ram good for i7 3770 k yehia7000 RAM 9 September 9, 2012 10:27 AM