Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 2, 2008, 12:24 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default Finallly

i jsut got my E8400 today damn i cant wait to fire it up just waiting for my 8800gt's to return from rma. I need some help in picking the right Ram for my system i got rid of the crucial now i have 2 @ 1g kinston value ram and 1 512mb too on a P5n32 sli deluxe any suggestions??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 02:26 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

should i go crucial or ocz pc 8500??
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 02:48 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,470

My System Specs

Default

The most recent ballistix memory hasn't worked well with P35 motherboards (I know your board isn't P35, but it's worth considering) and doesn't apparently OC very well. That said, I'm not sure I've heard that many good things about the OC possibilites with OCZ memory lately either.

If Stability is the main goal, I think I'd go with OCZ at the time being.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 03:35 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

much bigger problem installed everything with 2 gigs of kingston ram pc 4200 $19 on sale. board has the status light on but when i hit the power button nothing happens its not powering on. i dont have any video cards installed yet waiting for them to arrive wednesday. could this stop it from firing up its sunday so i have no way of runnin out to get a pci or even a cheap pci -e to test it. any idias?? HELP dont have any cash to buy a new board after spending $160 for the E8400.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 04:00 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

The computer won't POST without a video card, however it should still power up, but you'll just get some annoying beeps.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 04:20 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

no powering up didnt install the front panel speaker should i do that cause rite now i dont have a video card totest it with till like wenesday and i didnt install the front pannel speaker. but i do believe without the video card and fp speaker my fans should still power on irte???
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 04:36 PM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

Yes, hook up the speaker. BIOS beeps are the most basic troubleshooting for booting. If you get beeps, google them.

No, the fans will not necessarily work. When I blew the RAM on my latest box nothing functioned. The mainboard controls just about everything else (directly or indirectly). If it is not happy you can ask it to go (press the power button) but it will just ignore you and do nothing.

I have never seen a mainborad that would not POST without a video card and I have built many headless computers. Sure, Windows will not always boot on a computer without a video card but that is a different story. You could try unpluging your drives and booting from a m0n0wall CD if you have another computer you can connect with. That is a long shot and only worth the effort if you have nothing better to do tonight.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 04:55 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,470

My System Specs

Default

Do you know for sure that the bios has been flashed to a version which will run the new chip? If not, you may need to flash it with an older proc before carrying on.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 08:26 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

crap no other processor to test it with and wish u guys were around toronto lol , about try installin the speaker tomorw
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2008, 08:27 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

so i do need a video card to figure it out??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes