Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 02:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,817

My System Specs

Default

Well first determine which motherboard you actually have...

If it is the nForce 4 (Asus P5N32 SLI-DELUXE) as per you sig, then the "best" CPU you're able to get is the Pentium D which performs worse than an AMD Athlon X2 for the most part...

In which case, I'd recommend you just get a Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L (about $100) and use your E8400 in it. Don't scrap the E8400.

Just look on the physical motherboard, it will have the full name on it somewhere. Usually just below a PCI(e) slot.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 05:48 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

says asus P5N32 SLI JUST INFRONT OF THE RAM SLOTS BY THE PCI SLOT THERE IS ONLY NUMBERS, im trying something i read today online to clear the cmos and pull the battery for 7 mins and it should pick up on tomshardare or something like that
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 06:32 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,817

My System Specs

Default

So you got the nForce 4 model then, looks like this?

Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 10:31 PM
MAC's Avatar
MAC MAC is offline
Associate Review Editor
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Montreal
Posts: 967
Default

Regrettably, it appears that your motherboard doesn't support any Core 2 processors.

CPU Compatibility List.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old May 5, 2008, 11:30 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Rabbit View Post
The "E version" is a totally different board. if you have what you said you have in the OP you have this board which is an nForce4 board. Alternately, you may have one of these oh so confusingly named boards.

Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus - hybrid
NVIDIA® Dual X16 SLI
(C55+MCP55P; a.k.a. nForce®650i SLI & nForce®570 SLI)
ASUS HybridUp Technology
* Support SLI-Ready Memory Technology

Asus P5N-E SLI - 650i board
NVIDIA nForce® 650i SLITM

Asus P5N32-E SLI - 680i board - it is exactly the same board as the top-o-the-line Striker Extreme just without some of the fancy lights and such.
NVIDIA nForce® 680i SLI™
* Support SLI-Ready Memory Technology

I think you would have to look at the box, if you still have it, or on the board itself for the exact model name.
Oh crap forgot about that stupid board! HAHAH.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2008, 06:15 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

yeah thats how i feel , lol anyone want to trade me . i got 2 8800gts 640mb sitting here waiting for a home with this E8400 and this crappy board anyone wanna come to a campfire??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes