Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2014, 05:01 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 10
Default EVGA X79 DARK BAD BUY !!!

I purchased my X79 DARK from Canada Computers and the first board was DOA but they replaced the motherboard with no problems, great computer store. The EVGA X79 DARK on the other hand is not it a good motherboard it does not OC past 4.5Ghz even though that CPU will run 5.4 Ghz on my ASUS Rampage IV @1.4V. I never run over the Intel specs. The DARK also came with a bad primary network card (it lasted 2 days ) RMA lasted two days. I would suggest that if you live in Canada to avoid this motherboard, it will cost you more in shipping then it will to buy a good product. I have a MSI and ASUS as well with 3930K CPU's and they both rock although ASUS's tech support is poor to bad but MSI will go to the ends of the earth to make you happy with their products. This is just a warning if you are looking for a new motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2014, 05:16 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,797

My System Specs

Default

This is just my personal opinion but I lost faith completely in EVGA motherboards. First was the X58 Classified E762. The bios was just trash compared to the other X58 boards I had. Then the SR-2s I had were even worse. I'd honestly ever try one of their motherboards again.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2014, 05:34 PM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 271
Default

Had issues with their 775 boards 680i/780i/790i's but you could prob blame the nvidia chipsets .

my x58 was a poor clocker vs my asus board i switched too.

alot of people complained the z68's were poor performers as well.

Evga keeps trying and keeps throwing king pins name around but when it comes down to it most of their mobo's are subpar esp for prices . and their gfx cards are usually overpriced too.
__________________
My 3 current rigs
guest - Main - Work


I7 930@4.0ghz
3770K@ 4.8ghz
2500k @ 4.7ghz

SF101 HW BOT
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2014, 05:38 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

Swapping out a perfectly good RIVE for a Dark was a bad mov...you should have been following the Evga Forums re: The Darks and checking out there OC's and BIOS issues prior to purchasing!!!
Of course you had to read thru some of the fanboyism, but it was pretty apparant right from the start that the majority of OC'ers there were pushing extremely high vcore to there CPU's just to reach average OC's....I mean really....1.42v for 4.4 - 4.6 Ghz...yikes, thats not good vs a RIVE with 1.41v reaching 4.9 Ghz....not to mention no Offset Mode for CPU.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2014, 05:59 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Pretty sure I commented on the fact that the use of "Dark" a-la DFI's late to the party S775 board was a bad move just asking for trouble. Don't they also have a high end PSU called super-nova or something like that??? The last thing I want to associate my PSU with is something that blows up and takes out neighbouring celestial bodies with it.... :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 31, 2014, 11:16 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

FML and here I just had to buy the super nova 1500watt I should have known if it takes 4 months for a order to come through it aint worth it. Guess I can try sell this psu before I open it and try use it in my build.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2014, 04:28 AM
IRQ Conflict's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Drayton Valley, AB
Posts: 1,454

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
The last thing I want to associate my PSU with is something that blows up and takes out neighbouring celestial bodies with it.... :)


Made my morning. That's about what I was thinking with "Mantle". Then AMD doubled down with their "Vesuvius" code name.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2014, 10:46 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,790

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowarez View Post
FML and here I just had to buy the super nova 1500watt I should have known if it takes 4 months for a order to come through it aint worth it. Guess I can try sell this psu before I open it and try use it in my build.
If you really want a high end 1.5 kW, I believe Corsair is releasing an AX 1500i

Evga should stick to GPU's ;)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2014, 10:50 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Heh... just to be clear here... I haven't heard anything bad about the PSU, I just thought their choice of name was unfortunate. :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 3, 2014, 01:05 PM
Shadowarez's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 470

My System Specs

Default

Well soon as ram arrives ill plug it in. If you hear on news a city somewhere in the Arctic has suddenly gone dark I plugged in the evga psu with my rig.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA DARK + Car Radiator (Renamed) mattydies New Builds 12 January 22, 2014 12:26 PM
EVGA Teases Upcoming X79 Dark Motherboard SKYMTL CPU's and Motherboards 18 January 11, 2013 03:16 PM
Dark Knight + EVGA X58 X3 SLI derrXIII CPU's and Motherboards 0 May 5, 2009 05:34 PM
Into the Dark and Beyond... drnip Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 15 November 20, 2008 09:42 AM
Alone In The Dark : PC or Wii TwystedMonkey Off Topic 3 June 18, 2008 05:17 PM