Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 04:44 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default i7 860 to AM3+?

I made this nice detailed thread and it got deleted, probably in the maintenance.. dammit.

Anyway, I'm looking for a few opinions. Its been a few years since I've kept up with CPU/Mobo news and you guys might be able to help out.

My main gaming rig is as follows:
Core i7 860
Gigabyte P55-UD3R
16 GB ram
2 x vertex 4 128GBs
Nvidia 560 Ti

While this rig is amazing, and still plays most of the latest games after 5 years, I'm looking to move to something with more modern conveniences (PCIE 3, USB 3 etc, EUFI, etc). Would I see much of a gain if I were to move to a 6 or 8 core AM3+ chip? Or is there a a cheap i5 on socket 1150 that I could move to that would be much better?

Primary purpose would be gaming, and any input would be appreciated.

Thanks!
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 05:32 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,832

My System Specs

Default

Bump the GPU and oc that chip and you'll be all good...
If you really want the usb3 etc(though not much fully uses usb2 never-mind 3 as far as most people accessories go) then your best bets are an i5 or the 8320 from AMD...
Nothing from AMD really touch even the old i5's / i7's for single thread performance. I'd drop in a 770 or similar and call it a day.

Or if it's still good enough... wait till the summer... there s allot of hype for the maxwell chips which should be rolling out in Q2.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 05:32 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,065

My System Specs

Default

I would say going to AM3+ from the 860 would be pretty much a side step for gaming (probably offer the same fps), but would likely use more power. You would basically be changing over for the extra features on the motherboard (I wouldn't do it). Going to an haswell (1150) i5 would POTENTIALLY improve game performance and lower power consumption, while also getting you the usb3 etc.

In all honesty, unless you need one of the new features on a new motherboard, all you need to do for a nice gaming computer is make sure your power supply is still decent and drop in a new video card (gtx 760 would be a solid choice). Going to a gtx 760 or similar would probably give you close to double the fps of your gtx 560.

AnandTech | Bench - GPU13
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 05:41 PM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bond007 View Post
I would say going to AM3+ from the 860 would be pretty much a side step for gaming (probably offer the same fps), but would likely use more power. You would basically be changing over for the extra features on the motherboard (I wouldn't do it). Going to an haswell (1150) i5 would POTENTIALLY improve game performance and lower power consumption, while also getting you the usb3 etc.

In all honesty, unless you need one of the new features on a new motherboard, all you need to do for a nice gaming computer is make sure your power supply is still decent and drop in a new video card (gtx 760 would be a solid choice). Going to a gtx 760 or similar would probably give you close to double the fps of your gtx 560.

AnandTech | Bench - GPU13
Fair points from you and above, but would a 760 not be a bit throttled by PCIE 2.0? Also, I/O is probably restricted by my SATA, I would imagine that would give quite a bump as well. Thoughts?
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 06:38 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheator View Post
would a 760 not be a bit throttled by PCIE 2.0?
Nope unless you run it at x4: Ivy Bridge PCI-Express Scaling with HD 7970 and GTX 680 Review | techPowerUp
AnandTech Portal | The Radeon HD 7970 Reprise: PCIe Bandwidth, Overclocking, & The State Of Anti-Aliasing
For very high resolution, the PCIE 2.0 x8 begins to suffer, but the 760 itself would be the bottleneck before the PCI-E at those settings.

I noticed my upgrade to SATA 3.0 with a Kingston HyperX SSD, but unlike jumping from HDD to SSD, it's more of a luxory than a productivity boost.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2014, 07:41 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,065

My System Specs

Default

From what I have read pcie2.0 is not going to be an issue until quite a bit above the performance level of a gtx 760. I doubt it would be an issue on a gtx 770 either.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2014, 06:31 AM
FreeKnight's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 570

My System Specs

Default

Frontier is dead on. There's not much of an issue with throttling for most on PCIe 2.0 at the moment. I'm in a similar situation to you (i7 920, OC'd to ~ 3.6 most of the time), but I scooped up a G1 Sniper when they were on sale so I got a 1366 board with SATA III and USB 3.0. I'd say it's worth looking for a used board that has those functions and keeping your 860, or picking up a Haswell setup. The only thing on your system where I can see the interface being a problem would be the Vertex 4s. They might be choked a bit on SATA II. Fortunately HWC has a solid review by AkG showing that it's not too terribly throttled OCZ Vertex 4 128GB SSD Review

Haswell-E is supposed to be out for Q3/Q4 this year IIRC. Allegedly with DDR4 support, so it may have a bigger performance bump for you. With new architecture, cpus and DDR4, expect to get fleeced at the cash register though :S
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2014, 09:00 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Thanks for all the input, good to know about. I've also been offered to trade my 860 rig for an LGA 2011 i7 and motherboard, so I'm going to take that. That should alleviate any bottlenecks anyway.

Thanks guys!
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2014, 10:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: yorkton, saskatchewan
Posts: 29

My System Specs

Default

perfect cure.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2014, 06:33 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by highpie View Post
perfect cure.
I actually didn't end up getting it as it didn't come with a cooler. So I'm back on the market, and still considering.
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes