Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2013, 10:32 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Exclamation PLEASE HELP

Hi I'm getting the MSI Z87M Gaming motherboard with their click 4 bios, but I'm plugging my water coolers pump into a CPU fan header, and I was wondering how to disable the smart fan settings in the bios and make the pump continually run at full speeds.

-All figured out now, thanks for all the help guys!

Last edited by Crewbarnaby; December 31, 2013 at 08:42 AM. Reason: Issue Sorted :D
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2013, 10:36 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,048

My System Specs

Default

Get into BIOS and look fore a fan settings section in bios.
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2013, 10:42 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

In the future please refrain from posting the same thread in 5 different locations. It won't get you help any sooner. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2013, 12:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Default

KK sorry, won't do it again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2013, 01:08 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,421

My System Specs

Default

It will either be under something like CPU features or possibly power/monitoring,
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 30, 2013, 08:12 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,365

My System Specs

Default

I wouldn't use the cpu fan header to run the pump anyway... Just plug a regular fan into it or disable the warning.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2013, 06:55 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Yeah, but I don't think the Pumps able would reach the FAN headers ont he motherboard :L s they are right at the bottom for some reason...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2013, 07:43 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,063

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Crewbarnaby View Post
Yeah, but I don't think the Pumps able would reach the FAN headers ont he motherboard :L s they are right at the bottom for some reason...
Fan Headers not all of them, but the CPU one should be a 4 Prong one right by the CPU socket.

Looking at a picture of the board, it is to the right of the Top Most Heatsink on the board. Plug it in there, and then go to your BIOS and disable the cool and quiet or whatever feature is reserved for power control on that part.
If you are not sure what control in the BIOS, a quick email to MSI's tech support should resolve the issue.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2013, 08:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Okay, thanks a lot man :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 31, 2013, 08:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 34
Default

Don't worry guys, figured it out now ;) Thanks for all the help!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes