Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 11:22 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default Xeon CPU in 775 motherboard?

I read somewhere that you can run a Xeon processor in a775 motherboard is this true and which Xeon processors?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 11:26 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,412

My System Specs

Default

I don't remember the model#, but I do remember that the Q6600 equivalent Xeon was a drop in part that many folks ended up with because of low availability of Q6600s at launch.

edit: Looks like it was the X3220.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP

Last edited by sswilson; October 17, 2013 at 11:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 11:41 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,462

My System Specs

Default

Try Xeon X3220. Look it up here http://http://ark.intel.com/products...-1066-MHz-FSB))
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 11:43 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,305

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MARSTG View Post
My WOT plugin won't let me load that page
SO basically the Q6600 is the same as the Xeon?

Last edited by Shadowmeph; October 17, 2013 at 11:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 12:07 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,462

My System Specs

Default

Oh yeah. You didn`t know that?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 01:34 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,679

My System Specs

Default

Yep, just like all the top end chips are. (not all but you know what I mean)
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 03:01 PM
Slaughter's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 346

My System Specs

Default

Yup, E8400 = Xeon E3110.

Shouldn't be an issue as long as it is a s775 xeon cpu of course ;)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 03:13 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

yep I have Xeon 3110 in a msi 775 mb sitting here :)
__________________
I use paypal only.:)
Remember... Four boxes keep us free: the soap box, the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 09:23 PM
Apathetik's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tobin Lake, SK
Posts: 302

My System Specs

Default

Yeah for sure! I am running a Xeon 3350(Q9450 equiv) in a socket 775 EVGA 132CK mobo.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2013, 02:43 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Default

...damn shame, that MSI not released any bios update that would support such nice Xeon CPU's in the Socket 775 on their PM8M3-V mainboards :( Yea, they are VIA chipset P4M800, but still a Xeon will be speed upgrade over Pentium 4 by all means.
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad motherboard for Intel Xeon Westmere CPUs LMZ CPU's and Motherboards 3 April 18, 2012 08:39 PM
Xeon Overclocking..... Cptn Vortex Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 August 19, 2011 11:27 AM
Xeon X3440? jdm89 CPU's and Motherboards 10 November 17, 2009 06:35 AM
New Xeon vs Q6600 Nodscene CPU's and Motherboards 4 April 1, 2008 03:16 PM
xeon Rapid-X CPU's and Motherboards 17 March 9, 2008 05:07 AM