Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 01:20 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default Maximus Formula Waterblock

Hey, Thinking of getting a Maximus VI Formula board this week. Just wondering if anyones had much experience using the Mosfet block that comes preinstalled. I know the block itself is Aluminum which isn't that great.

I would consider the Extreme Board with an aftermarket block but I want the onboard sound of the Formula board. Do you think the aftermarket cooler for the Extreme would fit the formula board?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 10, 2013, 02:24 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

If you're going to spend money on a new block maybe you could consider a tiny pump from ek and a single rad and run the aluminum block in its own tiny loop. Like a dcp series.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2013, 01:26 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 709

My System Specs

Default

I checked the boards and blocks and they are not going to fit. You might as well just buy the board and replace the block with an XSPC block if you don't want to buy the EK block.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2013, 09:22 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,035

My System Specs

Default

I would recommend not using the MOSFET block. Aluminium in a loop is a recipe for disaster, anodized or not.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2013, 03:15 PM
hero1's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kitchener
Posts: 709

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
I would recommend not using the MOSFET block. Aluminium in a loop is a recipe for disaster, anodized or not.
Why is that? Can you please elaborate.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 06:46 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: West of Toronto
Posts: 40
Default

you shouldnt mix metals in your loop as it will lead to corrosion. if you do you will need add anti-corrosion fluids to the loop
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:19 PM
Birk's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lethbridge, AB
Posts: 606

My System Specs

Default

Ive decided to go with the formula now that EK is making a proper full board block very soon
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 1, 2013, 07:26 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Posts: 1,423

My System Specs

Default

If you mix metals you simply need to use glycol in the loop... but your cooling performance goes way down and you can't dump this stuff down the kitchen sink either.
option 2 is dual loops (I've tried it... it sucks)

Really gotta try and keep the metals the same if possible. Decent nickle blocks and copper work well enough but if you can stick to just copper all the way through you'll not have to deal with galvanic corrosion and electrolysis. Brass is also non corrosive.
__________________
__________________________________________________ __________
"Lesson's cost money... good ones costs lots" -Tony Beets (gold rush)
__________________________________________________ __________
Mah Rig now
Mah Rig before
My stuff for sale.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maximus III formula BobbyLou CPU's and Motherboards 2 November 18, 2009 03:04 PM
[FS] Swiftech NBMax waterblock for Maximus II Formula ImmaPC Buy/Sell & Trade 21 September 12, 2009 11:09 PM
Striker II Formula or Maximus Formula II trayton CPU's and Motherboards 1 August 30, 2009 03:04 PM
WTB Maximus Formula SE MarcusFoX Buy/Sell & Trade 10 July 16, 2008 02:47 PM
maximus formula shortestraw RAM 7 April 29, 2008 08:56 AM