Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2013, 05:03 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default AMD better for BF4?

WTF, all beta benchmarks I find shows that AMD is beating up intel on this game. Please talk me out of pulling the trigger on a 9590 by showing some bad benchmarks for it on bf4. Otherwise I will have a volcano in my tower
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2013, 05:08 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

It's still in beta isn't it? I'd take Skymtl's advice and wait until the release version numbers are out in order to give both teams time to tweak. (Although I'm not sure if CPU manus do any tweaking for games.... ;) ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2013, 07:18 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

If I was the OP (as a BF4-focused individual),

WAIT FOR THE FULL RETAIL LAUNCH of BF4....we're being fooled...it's a BETA.

I would be a LOT more "curious" about AMD R9-290X performance in BF4 FULL RETAIL + Mantle possible improvements, than targeting an AMD CPU/MOBO platform at this point.
I would also investigate on the theory that Windows 8.1 deals better with BF4 than Win 7

OP, those AMD CPUs have a brutal TDP (as you probably read SKY's review on the 9590) and you'll need a great mobo + great cooling to keep the "volcano" under control. Don't forget to wrap the CPU socket in an asbestos blanket, JK.

An Haswell 4770K CPU + a 140$-ish MOBO is a better proposition than the volcano IMHO.

If you go for the "comet", well, god-speed and enjoy your toy!

Oh, I think the following is a thermal compound developed for FX-9590 :

https://www.hilti.ca/firestop-%26-fi...nt-strips/r361
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2013, 07:59 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

Yeah but there's a deal to get the volcano, best mobo for 990fx and a h100i for under 700 bucks!!!


Hahahaha fireproof TIM! Enough for 1000 applications
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 7, 2013, 08:03 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

OTOH it is always possible that BF4 does a great job of utilizing all available cores, and that is something that amd procs can excel at. If that's the case I'd be looking at one of the lower tsp procs though. :-)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2013, 08:37 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 645

My System Specs

Default

I'm seeing more benchmarks with haswell; it's beating up amd! I may just pick up a cheap i5 combo instead and buy a ssd, which i've been meaning to do for a long time.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2013, 09:02 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 432

My System Specs

Default

but FX chip used properly will smoke many of the other chips out there as does the encoding/decoding that utilizes them properly AND if mantle does what it is supposed to do that will let the chip really fly.
AMD will be better for BF4 and upcoming EA titles for many reasons IF AMD and their partners work towards making that happen.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 8, 2013, 11:06 PM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 305
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonstongue View Post
but FX chip used properly will smoke many of the other chips out there as does the encoding/decoding that utilizes them properly AND if mantle does what it is supposed to do that will let the chip really fly.
AMD will be better for BF4 and upcoming EA titles for many reasons IF AMD and their partners work towards making that happen.
the multi optimization will work for both amd and intel. intel chips also have 4 core and 4ht aswell as 6 core and 6 ht cores and better clock for clock performance.

so your logic is off bud.

if anything the game is just currently poorly optimized for some of the intel chips. that should change.
__________________
My 5 Current Rigs-Guest-Main-Work/Spare-HTPC-Laptop
I7930@4.0GHz-Guest
3770K@ 4.8GHz -Main
2500k @ 4.7GHz -work/Spare
3570K @ 4.5 -HTPC
MSI GT70-2OC/770m-998/4800MHz -Laptop
SF101 HW BOT
GPU's ("xfire"2x XFX290X@1150/1500"EKWB"|GIGAOC7970WF3@1250/1850|Asus480GTX@900/2000|
2xEvga260Core216's SLI in HTPC-Retired gpu's 9600ati|9800proATI|8800GTS"320mb&640mb"
|8800GTX|9800GT|9800GX2
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 01:59 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 352

My System Specs

Default

...or maybe, just maybe, are almost all the benchmarks optimized more for Intel that for AMD processors, witch in end mean, that the first time someone write engine for AMD FX processors, it will make then shine and everyone is caught by "surprise."

Not to forget that this is just a preview and the Mantle will be a gamechanger in all aspects. If the FX CPUs shine now, wait till they go utilize the hardware using Mantle multi-cores approach.

I'm not a AMD fanboy, in fact, I type this text on intel, but I'm not blind either. In many games the AMD cpu's (that are much weaker in many other tests compared to Intel offerings) score surprisingly good (eg. much faster that they should be scoring, when judging by the systetic benchmarks), so there is a potencial that is looking to be unleashed.

Witch is why AMD "wasted" two years on Mantle.

Of course, cooling will be a issue :D
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 9, 2013, 07:04 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,778

My System Specs

Default

AMD's will come to the fore once the games can fully utilize all their cores.

Mantle has no affect on CPU (apart from reducing the load due to much reduced calls)

There is nothing wrong with your current CPU. Is there anything you need it to do that it currently won't?
Stick to what you have and when the processing performance gets to low for you, then think about upgrading.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes