Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2013, 04:52 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Default AMD 8350 vs Intel 4770 vs XeonE3 for 3Ds Max/Solidworks/Autocad

AMD 8350 vs Intel 4770 vs XeonE3 for 3Ds Max/Solidworks/Autocad


Hi guys =)! I am some what new to pc building and i am sorry if i will ask dumb questions ^^ I am looking to build dedicated desktop for rendering and working primary in 3Dmax and Inventor(solid works). i watched many videos on different bench mark tests, and what i figured that there is no huge difference between them i understand that intel is a bit faster when it comes to gaming, but as i understood most games dont use more then 2 cores. So would it actually mean that FX8350 8 core at 4 Ghz will out perform XeonE3 1220 with 4 core and less speed. Certainly Xeon will cooler, more stable and lasting, i assume, for this type of task but will it be as fast, i will put good cooling regardless what processor i get so i am not worried about frying any off them. the hole thing with 4 core outperforming 8 core processor with ruffly the same speed is really confusing Please could some one explain it, it be so awesome!

Best Regards!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2013, 05:54 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 741
Default

Well if you got the money, go with the i7. However, if you're cash strap, the FX8350 doesn't seem to be too slow in 3DMax 2011.

AMD FX-8350 Processor Review: Tuned-Up Bulldozer. Page 7 - X-bit labs
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2013, 06:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Default

hey it clears thing up a bit! Thank you!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 19, 2013, 07:54 PM
Bond007's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 3,146

My System Specs

Default

Basically intel gets the job done more efficiently. There are some tasks where the 8350 is just as fast as the i7, but the 8350 also uses more power while operating. In games intel does have a fps advantage as long as you have a graphics card that lets you take advantage of it. As mentioned above...my vote goes to the i7 unless you really can't stretch the extra $.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, HD 6950(unlocked shaders and OC'd), Bitfenix Fury 750w, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 20, 2013, 08:36 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eluoci View Post
AMD 8350 vs Intel 4770 vs XeonE3 for 3Ds Max/Solidworks/Autocad
[snip]. So would it actually mean that FX8350 8 core at 4 Ghz will out perform XeonE3 1220 with 4 core and less speed. [snip] the whole thing with 4 core outperforming 8 core processor with ruffly the same speed is really confusing Please could some one explain it, it be so awesome!

Best Regards!
Look at it this way:

Intel and AMD use different ways to get the same result. AMD does calculations one way, and Intel does them another. The information fed into the processor is the same, and the information spat out is the same, but the process is different.

For the same speed and cores, AMD's process happens to be slower than Intel's. AMD needs more cores and more GHz to do the same amount of work. At the same time, because they need more cores and Ghz to work, they use more power/produce more heat.

Therefore a higher clocked AMD processor will be equivalent (or worse) than a lower clocked Intel processor.

Follow the advice above. If you can afford it, go Intel. If you can't, the AMD will be a perfectly good chip for your application.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autocad image conversion ? Mark Cases 2 September 20, 2013 07:27 PM
AutoCAD Architecture Build JD New Builds 6 April 15, 2012 09:32 AM
AutoCad cross platform support ZZLEE Mobile Computing 1 August 29, 2011 08:22 AM
Autocad 2010 Student ??????? MarkOne O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 December 8, 2009 04:12 PM
For-Cad-solidworks-mobile-output2 a monitor mailaw Mobile Computing 1 December 21, 2008 08:39 AM