Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2013, 05:41 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 42
Default AMD FX-6300 upgrade($120 budget.)

How much increase in performance does this cpu will give compare to a phenom2 x4 965? With the release of BF4 this Octobre, I think it's time to retire my phenom2.

mobo: Asus m5a97 R2.0
PSU: CM ex2 725
GPU: gigabyte HD 7850 oc ver.
ram: Kingston hyperx black 8gigs.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2013, 06:10 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

HAHA! Stay with the Phenom! Seriously, in a lot of applications, performance will be similar, and those areas where you see an increase, the increase will not be worth the money you pay. Keep you 965, buy a good cooler for it, and overclock the Shiznit out of it.

If you really want to upgrade, the only worthwhile AMD chip for serious gaming these days is the FX8350 (and to a lesser extent, the 8320). Hold on to the 965 a little while longer, and save your pennies for one of the octo-cores.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;

Last edited by great_big_abyss; August 30, 2013 at 06:15 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2013, 06:32 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,720

My System Specs

Default

second the above... not worth it.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 30, 2013, 09:01 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,861

My System Specs

Default

Agree. For a gaming rig, keep what you have unless you are going to mid-range i5 or i7. I you are after a boost in highly threaded apps it MAY be a different story.
__________________
Desktop: Antec Three Hundred, Z77-D3H, 3570K undervolt @4.1ghz with Zalman Optima Cooler, Corsair Vengeance 2x4gb@1866mhz, MSI Cyclone GTX 460, Seasonic S12II 500W, WD Black 1TB, Intel 530 120GB
Away from home light Gamer: Acer Aspire 15.6", A8-3500m undervolt and OC to 2Ghz, 2x4gb Corsair Vengeance, Crucial M500 240gb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2013, 08:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 42
Default

Can you guys help out a noob on how to overclocking my PC?
Specs:
AMD phenom2 x4 965BE
ASUS m5a97 R2.0
Kingston hyper x black 1600(9-9-9-24 2T) 1.65v.
CM Extreme 2 725watts
Antec kuhler 620
Gigabyte HD 7850 OC ver.
Corsair agility 3 120gigs.(OS and BF3)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2013, 09:06 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 471
Default

You'll probably need to dl CPU-Z, GPU-Z and HWMonitor all free for info and monitoring.

With my 965BE it needs 1.45v to hit 3.7ghz cpu multiplier 18.5 x 200mhz, then I bump the ht volt a little .0x v ( can't remember what exact is) 11 x 200 for 2200mhz.

Better vid card would've yield a better gaming box.

Ps, changing the ram to 1T from 2T and see if cl8/cl7 is stable will help also. PII reacts better to tighter timings, the imc is 1333mhz and your ram is 1600mhz cl9 so if you match up the native imc you should be able to tighten the timings.
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64

Last edited by upcoast604; September 2, 2013 at 09:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2013, 11:12 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,720

My System Specs

Default

If that all went over your head... try finding a youtube video or specific guide for your board..

Remember small increases, test, small increases etc.. Don't fry it and watch temperatures when stress testing.
__________________
Random quotes:

AKG: "So please don't piss on people and claim its raining. "
Soullessone21: "Their the only fat bitches I ever want in my wife :)"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2013, 11:39 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 471
Default

Some basic stuff.

Phenom II AM3 Overclocking Essentials | TechREACTION

AMD Phenom II IMC and RAM Overclocking Guide | TechREACTION
__________________
x4 965BE 3.7ghz / Tuniq Tower 120/ xfire HD6870s / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 7 64
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2013, 09:47 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 5
Default

well the thing is if you are going to be playing bf4 , it will be a good upgrade. bf4 should use more than 4 cores and the 6300 is a faster cpu than the phII.
really it won't cost you much to upgrade you will be able to get about 50 to 75$ for your cpu
if you do upgrade make sure your motherbord supports the cpu first.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 4, 2013, 10:03 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

I guess the general point is for the OP to hold onto his 965 just long enough until he can afford the 8350. The difference in performance from a 6300 to a 8350 is considerable, however the price gap is not that large. The 8350 is an upgrade that makes sense. The 6300, less so. Overclocking the 965 is merely to get him a few more FPS until he does have the money to upgrade.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Semi Budget Build with a FX 6300 Hexxagon New Builds 0 August 7, 2013 02:32 PM
Best motherboard for budget i3 upgrade? zeus3dfx CPU's and Motherboards 4 October 10, 2012 05:50 PM
I need help deciding on a budget storage upgrade. trainergames Storage 10 February 17, 2012 08:04 PM
couple questions about budget oc upgrade. Duzey Troubleshooting 3 July 19, 2011 09:29 AM
Budget Gaming Upgrade Meta|Gear New Builds 11 August 17, 2009 05:10 AM