Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 08:16 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

I personally favour the Intel Xeon series from Intel.. hopefully my next rig would be a dual / quad xeon build.. 4x 8 core xeon's ... omg, a man can dream.
but either way, that wont be for a few years yet and most likely by then we'll be reaching into 32core technology :3 4x 16C / 32T .. omg
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 08:25 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

32 threads? There's a couple of guys on here who have 64 thread beasts. 4x 16core Opterons...
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 08:26 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
32 threads? There's a couple of guys on here who have 64 thread beasts. 4x 16core Opterons...
I meant 32T each CPU :P

4x 16C / 32T :) sorry I didn't make that clearer lol

.. omg 64 threads.. after effects rendering race anyone? :)
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 08:32 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,210

My System Specs

Default

Ahhh, 64 threads on a single die. Gotcha.

Yeah, that would be beast.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 08:35 AM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Ahhh, 64 threads on a single die. Gotcha.

Yeah, that would be beast.
128 threads (4x 32) ... omg the processing power..

Quad xeon computer.. i cant wait
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 10:22 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Funny thing, I always read about people comparing the two and I have always sat back . I had bought an Sabertooth motherboard with AMD 1100T be cpu , 560ti and 8gb ram, I never could get my system to OC past 3.8 stable. anyways I gamed and did allot of things but waited for someone to sell a intel 2500 i5 which I did finally get one then I bought a Asrock z77 extreme 3 motherboard and pulled everything off of the AMD system ram graphics card SSD and the 1tb hard drive OC the cpu ( very easily) to 4.2 Ghz and try all the same games and did every thing the same as before and to be totally honest I personally don't notice any difference at all what so ever. now if I run all the tests to get numbers it does show a fairly large difference but like I mentioned I don't notice it personally . so to me unless some one is going from a very old system to a brand spanking new system I think that the change I did was a bit of a waste of money. I don't regret doing i t because I need to prove it to myself. now I am not sure if it is because maybe my system isn't balanced but I am doubting that it is it.

now the big thing Intel is promoting with all of these huge differences it the Haswell processor is it all hype like the other where they show all of these numbers and Data but for the average p[erson iot probably will be allot of money spend on something that that will never actually have its full possible potential used.
this to me goes back to the old saying " The numbers don't lie" this may be true but how much of a real world average use difference is there.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 11:17 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Most folks will simply lean towards the platform they can both afford and be comfortable with, whether it be AMD vs Intel or NV vs ATI.

I've never tried AMD, likely never will as I can afford Intel and love the OC'ing vs Heat, goes hand in hand with the performance, which has always been 1st Class.

Is one better than the other? It generally boils down to the "opinion" of the user.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 11:42 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

I have had both AMD and Intel, currently the house is AMD completely. My 8350 runs 5Ghz and does a good job on a lot of work I throw at it. Next round if Intel is still dominating >15% in performance I will probably go with Intel. AMD needs to clean house a bit and get their crap together. If they really are done on the "high" end then I wont be able to use them.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 12:01 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I will give intel the very easy to OC I didn't really have to do anything top OC my 2500k i5 I am not sure how high it will go.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2013, 03:19 PM
OC-Guru's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: London, UK
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all your contributions to the thread guys :) you all speak words of pure geek wisdom
__________________
Gaming rig: UNDER CONSTRUCTION!
Wife's rig / D3 Bot PC: 2x Xeon E5335 @ 2Ghz (8C/8T) | 24GB DDR2 RAM | ASUS GTS 450 1GB | HP OEM Socket 771 Motherboard | 4x Seagate ST9900805SS RAID0
D3 BT - Crispe#2349 (EU) - add me! :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Announces Third-Generation SSD: Intel Solid-State Drive 320 Series FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 8 March 31, 2011 12:47 PM
Intel Announces Next in Solid-State Drive Line Up: Intel SSD 510 Series FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 February 28, 2011 04:00 PM
Intel & NVIDIA Officially Bury Hatchet: Intel to Pay $1.5 Billion in Licensing Fees SKYMTL Press Releases & Tech News 4 January 12, 2011 04:51 AM
[WTT] GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard For Video Card or CPU gerardfraser Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 19, 2010 04:15 PM