Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 08:49 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Completely unrelated, but 4GB of RAM on a 2011 system...why? Why skimp here, when RAM was likely the cheapest part of your build?
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 08:52 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I had the same problem a number of yrs ago with an X58 I7 920 set-up.
I would say your Mobo is the culprit, likey bent CPU Socket pin/a

Rip it apart remove the CPU and use a magnifying glass to inspect your Pins. Consider a Mobo RMA.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 09:01 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I had the same problem a number of yrs ago with an X58 I7 920 set-up.
I would say your Mobo is the culprit, likey bent CPU Socket pin/a

Rip it apart remove the CPU and use a magnifying glass to inspect your Pins. Consider a Mobo RMA.
If it IS bent pins, wouldn't he be SOL? AFAIK RMA's are rejected because of bent pins...correct me if I'm wrong though.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 09:25 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St. John's, Newfoundland
Posts: 417
Default

If so, a small zip tie works well for unbending bent pins. Soft enough to not dmg any other pins yet strong enough to unbend the bent ones.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 10:14 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Home... ^_^
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris View Post
I am not familiar with this mobo. Does it have onboard video? If so, can you disable it and use your own video card, any good old card. Use your old drive with os, and run it. Did you also check the temp and voltages, using CPUID Hardware Monitor? Check all temps and voltages to see if there are anything out of whack.
I have not used linuxstress which looks quite complicated on the screenshots. Have you run Prime95, if not run it for an hour and see if it passes.
The other possibility is your CPU voltage could be too low. Try and increase it a bit, or do a simple overclock routine to see if it stabilizes.
no it does not have onboard video.. im using the old drive with os.. still there is problem... ya i checked its normal... have not run prime95 before... will try tat..... well i tried with the overclock before.. and it had the same problem..
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 10:16 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Home... ^_^
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
Completely unrelated, but 4GB of RAM on a 2011 system...why? Why skimp here, when RAM was likely the cheapest part of your build?
well hehe.. im using the ram from my older build.. though it would be enough.. but im planning on buying gskill 8gb 1866mhz...
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 10:20 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Home... ^_^
Posts: 51
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
I had the same problem a number of yrs ago with an X58 I7 920 set-up.
I would say your Mobo is the culprit, likey bent CPU Socket pin/a

Rip it apart remove the CPU and use a magnifying glass to inspect your Pins. Consider a Mobo RMA.
OMG.. is it really the problem???

Quote:
Originally Posted by great_big_abyss View Post
If it IS bent pins, wouldn't he be SOL? AFAIK RMA's are rejected because of bent pins...correct me if I'm wrong though.
SOL??

Quote:
Originally Posted by igot6strings View Post
If so, a small zip tie works well for unbending bent pins. Soft enough to not dmg any other pins yet strong enough to unbend the bent ones.
Looks like a hard work to do...
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 10:46 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 430

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syaoran7li View Post
no it does not have onboard video.. im using the old drive with os.. still there is problem... ya i checked its normal... have not run prime95 before... will try tat..... well i tried with the overclock before.. and it had the same problem..
What did CPUID say re CPU Vcore voltage? I really think you system is just not stable, since it does run for a little while before going out. What did CPUID say about cpu temp and the video card temp? Do you have another video card to try?

Regarding bent pins. It is easy to accidentally bent the pins. I did it when I re-applied the thermal paste. Put the cpu on and was careless, and bent a lot of pins. I used a magnifying glass, and a small round pin (about the size of a paper clips that you can handle easily without dropping it. I had one of those poking needle thing from a dissecting set with a slight hook, and with a handle to hold on.), Carefully pushed the bent pins back to align with others in the matrix. If the bent pin is push under, you need to lift it. Not a difficult job, just tedious, and be thorough.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 11:17 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,211

My System Specs

Default

SOL = Shit outta luck
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2013, 11:17 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,396

My System Specs

Default

so can you even load any live OS even Ubuntu it could even be something as simple as a bad Disk that you are using I know that for some reason or other that if a person is using a Burned disk that has pretty much any windows version on it and the Disk was burned at the fasted speed tha tfor some stupid reason it can and most likely will mess the disk up and cause problems when trying to install the Operating system, I have seen that happen allot and it always seem to happen with a Microsoft OS I have never seen it happen on any Linux or other OS which is why I suggested trying a live cd like linux , any " Live" Operating system that will load up , hell even try hirens boot disk if I remember it has differnt tests on it.
the important thing is to see if a live Opeerating system will boot up if it does them it most likely is the windows disk or USB that you are using.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Boot screen appear twice before Windows Starting up siegfx Troubleshooting 5 October 27, 2011 06:08 PM
Win7 Hangup on Windows starting screen clouter O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 August 27, 2011 08:46 AM
[Solved] - Computer stuck on 'ASUS' splash screen MittWaffle Troubleshooting 14 August 28, 2010 02:14 PM
Win7 starting screen looking weird, but.... t_mo_t Troubleshooting 13 April 14, 2010 09:25 PM
Windows 7 Installation Problems: Stuck at Expanding Windows Fles flightsimnerd Troubleshooting 9 February 16, 2010 01:57 PM