Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 07:53 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default New PSU? or an Adapter?

I just purchases some (BUDGET) upgrades (mentioned in a thread below) and have one other question about a Power Supply.

My new Mobo needs a 24Pin power Supply to it. Intel Pentium D 915 Processor (2.8ghz, 4 megs cache, 800mhz fsb). I will likely attempt to give it a mild - moderate over clocking.

My current Power Supply has a 20 Pin cable for the Mobo, and a seperate P-4 4 pin. It claims to be 400 Watts. I can clearly see the specs and will post specific amperage and voltage if requested.

I do not want to have my old power supply hold me back from obtaining performance, and deffinately to not want it to limit the life span of my hard ware (not sure if thats realistic or not).

I am trying to keep costs down, but know that if I am better off spending the money I will do so.

Should I purchase a new PSU?

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...7&sku=ULT31845

The price of this one seems reasonable. Would this be a good choice for my needs? (My computer does lots of multitasking, but no MAJOR work or gaming).

I am open any suggestions of course.

Also my next hard drive will be an SATA Hdd. I do not currently have an power for an SATA drive. Also I currently have a 30 gig Drive (windows) and a 120WD with 8 meg cache for storage. I will be purchasing another hard drive in the distant future.

Is it possibly for me to use my current PSU to power my current fans and drives, and a new PSU to similtaniously power the mainboard and eventually SATA devices?

I am sure I could easily solder up connections to make them power on similtaniously, but I thought I should check incase this is a BAD idea (or un-nescisary).

ALSO I have addequit space for 2 PSU's in my case and can easily install both (and allow proper ventilation)



Thanks for the help :)



Matty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 08:04 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,250

My System Specs

Default

If you can hold off for a week or so SKTMYL's 500w PSU round up should be out.
Here is his budget PSU review, should help with a decision.
I believe he is reviewing that PSU, I'm sure he will post in here sooner or later if not shoot him a PM
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2007, 08:46 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

I do believe that I can hold off while waiting for the review :)

Is it pheasable to run dual PSU's for the purpose which I mentioned? Is it safe / stable / bennificial?


Thanks for the good read, and heads up for the up-comming article :)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 11:16 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,634

My System Specs

Default

It's possible, but probably a PITA (normally done for big rigs with a PSU controller to turn on the second PSU in conjunction with the main PSU) for the application you're planning.

To run a second PSU without a proper controller you would need to jumper the green wire w/ one of the black ground wires (on the 20/24 pin plug) and then turn it on/off with the main power switch (or plug it into a powerbar with a switch).

Are you sure that the board will not run off of a 20 pin PSU until you can drop some coin on a newer model? (I've had several mobos that strongly recommended a 24 pin PSU, yet had no problems running off of a 20 pin).

What area of the country are you in? If you're down this way I might be able to help you out.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 11:30 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 104
Default

most mobo's with a 24 pin connector will run with a 20 pin just fine. no, you do not need some fancy psu turner-on/off. all they do is connect the the green and black wire from the psu hooked to the mobo, to the second one. when you hit the power button on the pc, both turn on. its not that complicated, at all.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 11:45 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,706
Default

Yup, I'm aiming for mid mext week for it to be finished. The easy part is the testing....the tough part is the write-up.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2007, 02:25 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 301

My System Specs

Default

I look forward to reading it :)


Thanks for the info guys.


Thanks for the write ups SKYMTL
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dvi to Hdmi adapter? cdn_Madrach HTPC Systems & Software 12 October 24, 2007 10:46 AM
360 with VGA adapter on 22" lcd looks like crap! Mibs Gaming 2 September 27, 2007 07:41 PM