Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 04:31 PM
p3t3rson's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Uxbridge, ON
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Teaming generally will not get you more than 115MB/s of actual throughput. Not with a single user accessing the NAS. At least not from my testing.
That's disheartening

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
What would you want to access? I have been able to install XBMC and was able to stream to the iPad from my server, although I found it rather pointless.
As far as the iPad is concern it would mostly be general documents, ebooks, music and photos while traveling. But for my PC work laptop I want to be able to read and write to my file server as if were a local drive also while travelling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueByte View Post
Do you want to host VMs? or run VMs on your server?
Currently it's beyond my technical abilities to be honest, but maybe in he future.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueByte View Post
For your own or anyone elses notes, CAT5e fully supports 10Gbit, its only the range that differs between the two. So anyone running older cable you don't have to rip out your old cable if length is within spec.
Really? My understanding is that only CAT6A can do 10Gbps up to 18m and CAT6E can go longer, anything else was limited to 1Gbps.

Last edited by p3t3rson; April 4, 2013 at 05:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2013, 05:51 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 531

My System Specs

Default

CAT5e 45M for 10Gbit Ethernet
CAT6 55M for 10Gbit Ethernet
CAT6a 100M for 10Gbit Ethernet
CAT7 >100M for 10Gbit Ethernet

CAT6 is less susceptible to noise(but not greatly better) over CAT5e. But really in a home most people can prob run CAT5e for their needs.... well unless your switch is right behind your microwave.

If you are dreaming about VM work but not going to use it anytime soon, don't buy for it now. When you are ready build to your needs then because depending on your needs you could range greatly in your requirements. I have both dedicated VM servers and run VMs on my desktop. A lot of people just run their hobby stuff off their desktop.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
cpu , intel , server , windows

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Xeon E5-2680 and GIGABYTE X79S-UP5 Server Level Performance windwithme CPU's and Motherboards 7 October 28, 2012 11:56 AM
[FS] INTEL server norfolk Buy/Sell & Trade 5 September 2, 2011 10:23 AM
INTEL Server for parts norfolk Price Check 7 August 31, 2011 10:33 AM
Intel SSD for Server OS botat29 Storage 0 March 30, 2011 04:24 PM
Anyone have experience with Intel server boards? Jack Rabbit CPU's and Motherboards 20 November 26, 2007 08:31 PM