Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 09:15 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Question i3 i5 i7 real world speed

Has anyone ever had an experience where they had a setup where they could compare and see any speed difference between an i3, i5 or i7 chip? Assuming you had a Z77 board and 8 GB ram and a SSD and were using the internet and basic office software would you see any better performance? Not talking about intense gaming with these chips, just average user use.

Just curious.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 09:21 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,537

My System Specs

Default

No you would not notice any difference if you were just doing basic browsing and office.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 09:37 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,383

My System Specs

Default

I have never noticed a difference between any CPU made in the last couple years paired with a SSD
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 10:32 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 950

My System Specs

Default

ive got 2 i3 gaming rigs here (i3 540@ 4.6ghz and i3 2130) , an i5 3570k rig and an i7 970 rig and with gaming ive noticed zero diff in gaming let alone websurfing and office work. Its when im doing my schoolwork that my 970 and 3570k start to shine over the i3 boxes.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 11:23 AM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Very little difference until you start doing stuff thats heavy on the CPU/needs many threads/doing lots of stuff at the same time.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 11:55 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

For browsing and Office I can't see the difference between my older (now in the repair shop) laptop's Core i5 2410M and my desktop's Core i5 2500k at 4.4 GHz. Even with an SSD I'd say you'd have to go all the way back to Athlon 1 or Phenom 1 levels to see a CPU bottleneck in simple tasks. (I do notice my parents' computer with Phenom 9500 TLB disabled, but with SSD, is slower, but that may also be due to Vista vs Win7.)
This includes light Visual Studio 2010 work, since my programming stuff is I/O bound in the compile (I store my code on HDDs).
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 01:22 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the replys. I've been making some office computers with the i3 chip and a couple with i5 but can't really tell any difference. The SSD is such that I never want to go back to a HDD.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 02:22 PM
Dzzope's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,763

My System Specs

Default

Most computers on day-to-day stuff will be more ram or io limited and with the price of ram and SSDs down to what they are they shouldn't be a problem these days.

Untill you have a lot of apps open or a few more cpu heavy ones then the difference will be nill that a person would notice without running the same things side-by-side so you can actually see the difference.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 02:24 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Office PC here a PC I build for office work ( I change the ram at the time of the pic I have only tgose one)

MSI H77 board
i3-2120
4 b RAM
WD 500 Black Cache with an Intel 40 GB using Intel RST

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2013, 04:40 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 644

My System Specs

Default

My 2600k is in use in my main machine so I have a i3 2100 in my test rig right now. I was benching a 7970 with it the other day and didn't notice any performance impact from the lesser cpu.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ram Cache and Ram Disk, Real world difference? BobbyLou RAM 11 October 31, 2012 06:52 AM
What kind of a real-world performance improvement would a 4gb 670 bring over 2gb 670? peppergomez Video Cards 11 August 6, 2012 06:39 AM
Question regarding real world value of dedicated PhysX card Perineum Video Cards 7 May 10, 2011 06:43 PM
i7 2600k vs i7 950 in real world performance CTA CPU's and Motherboards 13 February 7, 2011 04:24 PM
L2 Cache effects on Real World impruv CPU's and Motherboards 3 March 15, 2010 11:47 AM