Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 03:46 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Question Motherboards with crossfire compatibillity, also sli compatible?

I have an asus p8 b75-v motherboard with crossfire compatibillity which means that I can run two ATI cards on it if I wanted. However now i am currently running one GTX 660 and I am thinking about getting a second card which leads us to the question.

Can I run SLI on a crossfire compatible board?

Answers are very much appreciated
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 05:14 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,470

My System Specs

Default

Very few chipsets support both, and the documentation would make it very clear if it did.

ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS P8B75-V

According to that it's strictly AMD for multi-card setups with Lucid tech for using onboard + discrete.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 06:36 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,934
Default

Supports AMD Quad-GPU CrossFireX™ Technology
Supports LucidLogix® Virtu™ MVP Technology *1

nope need to upgrade system to SLi supported MB
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 07:16 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

The real question is does your system need SLI? I mean are you running massive monitors? Or are you still running a 22"?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 27, 2012, 08:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 6

My System Specs

Default

I'm running an 27''(1920x1200) and a vga quality monitor but i thinking about getting a second card because i want better graphic performance.

well anyway, thanks everyone who has replied. your wisdom has led me on the right path.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
crossfire , motherboard , sli

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Z77 Motherboards xNuclearHDx LinusTechTips Q&A 5 April 17, 2012 02:30 PM
p45 motherboards Symple CPU's and Motherboards 1 March 31, 2012 02:41 PM
How well does the combination crossfire/SLI motherboards perform Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 3 September 10, 2009 10:17 AM
HIS 4850 ICEQ4 Turbo crossfire or normal HIS 4850 crossfire? lanken123 Video Cards 6 October 7, 2008 09:47 PM
AM2+ motherboards? sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 7 August 21, 2007 12:17 PM