Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 12:40 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Default Realtek Network Controller not found

I just built a new system and installed Windows 7 on my SSD. When Windows tried to authenticate itself it failed as it could not connect to the internet. Upon closer inspection of my Ethernet Controller device, its properties says that "The drivers for this device are not installed". I ran the LAN Realtek driver installation that came with the motherboard but received the error: "The Realtek Network Controller was not found. If Deep Sleep Mode is enabled, Please Plug the Cable".

I have tried removing my RAM and motherboard battery for 10 minutes, but that did not fix it. I've also resetted my UEFI BIOS but that did not work either.

Do I have a defected motherboard, or is there a step I am missing.

I want to note that prior to installing Windows 7 on my SSD, I ran MemTest86+ for several hours on my RAM. I also installed Windows 7 on another hard drive to run Prime95 for several hours. That hard drive that contains Prime95 + Windows 7 is not connected to the motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 12:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,735

My System Specs

Default

did you double check to ensure that it isn't turned off in the bios?

Did you check the website to see if there's an updated driver or perhaps a different motherboard version with a different lan (I've never seen this on a desktop motherboard, but multiple lan options are common with laptops)?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 01:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
did you double check to ensure that it isn't turned off in the bios?

Did you check the website to see if there's an updated driver or perhaps a different motherboard version with a different lan (I've never seen this on a desktop motherboard, but multiple lan options are common with laptops)?
The LAN option is not turned off in the BIOS, and I downloaded the most updated driver from the website.

I am using an ASRock Z77 Extreme4 motherboard
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 01:59 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,735

My System Specs

Default

Did you install all of the chipset drivers? Maybe there's some kind of wierd dependancy that requires base chipset drivers to be installed for the lan to be recognised.

It's strange though that device manager reconises the port, but won't accept the drivers. Did you point to the drivers from within device manager?

You might also want to remove the lan from device manager and then allow it to be picked up again on the next boot. Once you delete it, go through the remove programs and ensure that you delete any and all network drivers.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 02:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Default

I will do that shortly. This is what my device manager looks like... not sure if it is helpful or not.

imgur: the simple image sharer
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 02:07 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,735

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, you're missing a lot of devices which suggests to me that a core motherboard driver is not installed. Did you use the install disk or just attempt to install individual devices?

Is this a clean install, or are you attempting to transfer an OS disk over to new hardware?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 02:17 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

it's not going to work for you have a Broadcom BCM57781 lan

not realtek lan

you got realtek audio

for lan asrock

use this link bc_support if desktop driver select your OS

Last edited by KaptCrunch; December 15, 2012 at 02:25 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 02:52 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,583
Default

LAN - PCIE x1 Gigabit LAN 10/100/1000 Mb/s
- Broadcom BCM57781
- Supports Wake-On-LAN
- Supports Energy Efficient Ethernet 802.3az
- Supports PXE

The Captain is right. You don't have a Realtek LAN controller.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 03:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 49
Default

Stupid me, I didn't install my motherboard drivers properly last night. Must have forgot about it and assumed it worked this morning. Thanks for the help guys :)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2012, 03:32 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,954
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by icu222much View Post
Stupid me, I didn't install my motherboard drivers properly last night. Must have forgot about it and assumed it worked this morning. Thanks for the help guys :)
yes had those many nights working late and tried making silly mistakes

rule of thumb .....go to sleep

for will complete fast on a good nights sleep

first before OS install collect all current harware drivers and update firmware for MotherBoard using

also pay attention to MB Revisions for same model name but different hardware on MB
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless network printing over a school network Bentech Networking 9 September 10, 2012 07:03 PM
[WTB] (CPU Block found!) (Water pump )Found please delete Justin Cider Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 21, 2012 01:01 PM
[WTB] FOUND FOUND FOUND !!! HIGH END S775 DDR2 MOTHERBOARD CHEAP b1lk1 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 April 9, 2012 03:23 PM
Found a Way to Use Rear Speakers with Realtek HD Drivers geokilla Audio 2 August 6, 2010 12:40 PM
Marvell vs Realtek ethernet controller TheRock CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 2, 2009 07:46 AM