Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 08:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default sabertooth 990fx 2.0 memory issues

hey guys im having a little bit of trouble getting my bios to utilize all four sticks of ram i have. it will only recognize 1 running at 2133 and 2 at 1866 and below any suggestions guys and help will be greatly appreciated

my build
sabertooth 990fx r2.0 latest bios
am3+ fx-8350
patriot viper xtreme 2133mhz 16gb 4x4
coolmax 700 wat psu

thanks in advance guys
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 08:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

Pretty typical for all AMD chipsets. They don't like running high speeds in 4 slots. You can try bumping the NB and mem voltages a bit, and make absolutely sure that they're running 2t (most AMD chipsets seem to default to 1t, but the great majority of memory on the market is rated with 2t set).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 08:47 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 541
Default

I have 32GB in my Sabertooth and lazily I set the memory at 1800mhz for all four slots and its 100% stable. You might be able to sneak it up but I doubt you will get it running all four slots at 1866mhz. If its any consolation its almost no difference anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2012, 10:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

i still cant get it to utilize all for sticks = /
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2012, 12:12 AM
Avenger212's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

I had a similar problem a couple of days back, were my RAM was causing my P.C. to blue screen. Asus Released a new bios update a couple of weeks back fixing some stability problems that might also fix your problem. Find the latest Bios update here: ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0

Last edited by Avenger212; December 8, 2012 at 12:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2012, 12:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Avenger212 View Post
I had a similar problem a couple of days back, were my RAM was causing my P.C. to blue screen. Asus Released a new bios update a couple of weeks back fixing some stability problems that might also fix your problem. Find the latest Bios update here: ASUS - Motherboards- ASUS SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 which might fix your problem.
that was the first thing i tryd thanks for the input tho any other guesses guys?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2012, 03:44 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 541
Default

Have you tried 1333mhz and 1600mhz just to see if it will POST at those speeds?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2012, 05:24 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

I have read/heard that the asus amd boards can be VERY finicky with ram. And i've heard all possible speed/amount combinations work on some boards for folks but others not at all.

USUALY the 4x4 setups all speeds work well .... for shure @ 1600 they do as thats what mine can do now vs couldnt do on my 1090t.

Thought thinking of it, I think sky even mentioned about him having a hard time to run anything over 1866.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crosshair V vs Sabertooth 990FX Masteroderus New Builds 6 January 10, 2012 09:12 PM
Asus Sabertooth 990FX Issues lechumbl CPU's and Motherboards 19 November 22, 2011 07:45 PM
RAM Advice for Asus Sabertooth 990FX AM3+ Rikan S-087 RAM 5 September 29, 2011 06:32 AM