Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2012, 06:13 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,403
Default GIGABYTE Shatters AMD ‘Trinity’ APU Speed Record

Gigabyte’s own overclocking team was in Taiwan last week where they achieved a massive 7.86GHz on an AMD 5800K APU, more than twice the stock speed of 3.8GHz.

Read more here: GIGABYTE Shatters AMD
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2012, 05:48 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

AMD have always clocked well, even if the architecture is behind.

Lovin' the new records though.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2012, 06:37 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
AMD have always clocked well, even if the architecture is behind.

Lovin' the new records though.

-ST
Not true. The Phenom 1's clocked like shit. 200-500mhz overlock on BE cpus.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 29, 2012, 09:37 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silvgearx View Post
Not true. The Phenom 1's clocked like shit. 200-500mhz overlock on BE cpus.
Very true on this one. I had a 9950 BE and if I remember right ~3.2 GHz was the max clock speed I could get out of it, so that's a 600 MHz overclock. Other then that I think every other gen of cpu was decent in that aspect.

Last edited by Killswitch; November 30, 2012 at 08:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 09:16 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Silvgearx View Post
Not true. The Phenom 1's clocked like shit. 200-500mhz overlock on BE cpus.
Sorry, I should have said P2's and Up. Its all about the specifics...

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 3, 2012, 10:12 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,700

My System Specs

Default

My 9950BE will not go above 3GHz without unreasonable voltage. :(
I should have gone with the then-new i7s even if they were so much more expensive.
Haswell here I come! No more slow PCs for me.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2012, 05:13 PM
sf101's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 271
Default

this is on ln2 mac junky don't expect to just oc something to these levels. my guess is full pot no cold bugs of any kind and speed bases just flat out going max clocks. amd had had huge oc's for awhile now. 7.8ghz is pretty impressive for a apu tho must admit.
__________________
My 3 current rigs
guest - Main - Work


I7 930@4.0ghz
3770K@ 4.8ghz
2500k @ 4.7ghz

SF101 HW BOT
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2012, 08:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Irishman in Kiev, wOOoo, I'm an alien...
Posts: 2,545

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sf101 View Post
this is on ln2 mac junky don't expect to just oc something to these levels. my guess is full pot no cold bugs of any kind and speed bases just flat out going max clocks. amd had had huge oc's for awhile now. 7.8ghz is pretty impressive for a apu tho must admit.
Of course it's on some silly expensive cooling and most likely on a single core too. But thats what they do for records.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2012, 06:17 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Nashville
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
Sorry, I should have said P2's and Up. Its all about the specifics...

-ST
Ever family has a black sheep. Which reminds me, I wonder what my sister is up to....
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2012, 07:37 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tethlah View Post
Ever family has a black sheep. Which reminds me, I wonder what my sister is up to....
Probably doing an OVER ClOCK of her own
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASUS Shatters Performance Barriers with Intel Z77 Chipset and 3rd Gen Core i7 CPUs Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 25, 2012 04:30 PM
Swiss Overclocker Sets DDR3 Speed Record Sam_Reynolds Press Releases & Tech News 2 March 2, 2012 06:34 PM
New HAMMERHEAD HMR989 shatters traditional PC design. Mnpctech Off Topic 14 January 20, 2011 04:33 PM
gigabyte UD3P + 8 gig Mushkin Redline Timing/Speed Maculosa RAM 6 February 22, 2009 07:35 PM
PCI-E link speed on Gigabyte GA-MA790FX-DQ6 with 2 HD3870 kybeer CPU's and Motherboards 0 December 13, 2008 03:25 AM