Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 06:06 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 9
Post Changing motherboard NEED HELP!

Hi Guys! I need your help, is there a way to change my motherboard without reformatting my HDD and re-installing my OS?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 07:18 AM
Pabz0r545's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,308

My System Specs

Default

If you are switching to the same platform you will not need to reformat. If you are you may or may not. It has gone both ways for me.
__________________
I'm a damn hoarder lol.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 07:37 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,253

My System Specs

Default

Which OS? What are you changing from > to ?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 08:33 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,524

My System Specs

Default

No guarantees when changinga board. Always best to reinstall windows with hardware changes.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 11:41 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

The collective wisdom here says a motherboard swap in an existing system can be done without reinstalling windows. I went from a 1366 MB / i7-930 to a 1155 MB / i5-something and I had to reinstall windows and my programs. Data was still all there. It wasn't bad but still killed a couple of days. Had to call microsoft too on their automated 1-800 line to get the OS verified as legal. It didn't take too long and was fairly easy, just annoying that I had to do it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 11:52 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,546

My System Specs

Default

I recently sold my SSD to someone, they requested I installed windows on the SSD before sending it to him. I have an i7 920, Sabertooth X58 & Nvidia 560ti, the buyer had an i5 2500k and some P67 board, and dual 6870s in crossfire. I just installed the base windows, activated it and put all the drivers for the new system on the desktop of the OS. If you're changing the motherboard to the same platform it will likely work out of the box, as long as the bios settings are correct and the same. However if you're upgrading to another platform, or from intel>amd and vice versa it would be best to uninstall all the drivers related to your current motherboard.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 3, 2012, 03:57 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 646

My System Specs

Default

Probably won't have to reformat. Windows reinstall is actually very common when swapping motherboards, unless the two mobos are very similar.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 21, 2012, 05:33 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

If it's a drastically different board then sysprep is the surefire the way to go. I just did this and it works perfectly. It was Intel to Intel but 1366 x58 to 1155 z77.

Go to your "c:\windows\system32\sysprep\" folder. Double-click on the sysprep application.

Make sure "Enter System Out-of-Box Experience (OOBE)" is selected, check off "Generalize", select "Shutdown" and click "Ok".

If you get a message stating "A fatal error has occured blah-blah yackety-schmackity etc....." then you'll need to kill the "Windows Media Player Network Sharing" service and run sysprep again. You can get there by typing "services.msc" into the windows programs and files search area at the bottom of the start menu.

Install your new mobo and other stuff. Make sure your HDD is set as the boot drive in the bios.... obviously haha.

Once you boot up it'll seem as though you just did a fresh install of windows. When prompted create a new user account. After that you can select your original account name to log in and delete the new account you just created. Install all your new drivers and you should be good to go.

Edit: From what I've read this method is supposed to remove all hardware ID's from the OS and resets everything so you shouldn't have to call M$ to reactivate Windows. At least I didn't have to.

Last edited by Killswitch; November 21, 2012 at 05:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
changing motherboard , motheboard changing , motherboard swapping , swapping motherboard

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Directories jpark245 Guides & How-to's 7 December 2, 2012 04:25 PM
gaming pc: changing motherboard, cpu, cpu cooler and ram 500 euro Don Chuck New Builds 9 October 29, 2012 11:45 AM
Changing my OS HDD to SSD Cadence O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 September 11, 2010 09:44 PM
CL changing to 4.0? somecanadianguy RAM 4 April 20, 2009 05:18 PM
changing psu? djnocide Power Supplies 4 December 12, 2007 07:07 PM