Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 02:47 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default Intel Motherboard backplate?

Well today while multitasking with my OCing of my spicy chips my Asrock motherboard arive.
SO all excited I opened up the box pulled out the motherboard set it on the motherboard box, dug out one of my PSUs ppluged in my 2500K chip and was trying to decide which cooler to use when I noticed that the motherboard has no back plate.

The last AMD motherboards I had bought all have had Backplates on them but this Intel mother board doesn't.
is this normal I worry because of the weight of some of these cpu coolers are fairly heavy and I really don't want to warp the motherboard.

Also if and when I do pull out my AMD board and install the V* water block onto this motherboard with out a back plate it all of the weight will be pulling on the screw holes
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 04:29 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,234

My System Specs

Default

Seems to me that not having a backplate is the standard for intel motherboards. They still use the pushthrough cooler mounts on their stock heatsink.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 04:32 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

The After Market CPU cooler come with a backplate
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 30, 2012, 04:37 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

For amd chips unless I tossed out the Intel ones. been amd for yrs this is the first Intel since back when the e8600 ,I think it was .
hmm I am a little paranoid .I think I am just going to have it setup out in the open on the motherboard box for now.

Oh and thanks for lettin g me know that they don't come with back plates
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2012, 03:03 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,283

My System Specs

Default

Dam I am not sure what to make the back plate out of any suggestions, I am not really that impressed with Intel so far, the way everyone was going on making it sound almost god like lol. for a joke I ran 3 different things at the same time, like copy pasting files and installing a couple things and this thing hickuped pretty good, I guess I am just used to 6 core or something, I am going to have to figure out something for a back plate so I can OC this thing the test it.
The windows score only gave this a 4.9 lol mind you I still don't have a graphics card installed yet.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2012, 03:18 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,291

My System Specs

Default

Sorry I might of miss read since my landlord doesnt believe in heat and I'm freezing my ass of but what cooler are you using??? I have tons of back plates for all different boards 775-1156-1155-1366 think I still have some that came with my h100 and h80's just hit me up with a pm :)
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 4, 2012, 03:50 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

I need more info.. what heatsink are you using exactly? It should have come with one.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Intel 775 Motherboard !! BrainEater Buy/Sell & Trade 3 April 27, 2012 04:15 PM
[FS] GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard gerardfraser Buy/Sell & Trade 0 August 18, 2010 12:53 PM
[WTT] GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD4P LGA 1366 Intel X58 ATX Intel Motherboard For Video Card or CPU gerardfraser Buy/Sell & Trade 5 July 19, 2010 03:15 PM
Best intel 775 SLI motherboard? stoanee CPU's and Motherboards 5 April 24, 2009 10:02 PM
Intel Motherboard sizzla1 CPU's and Motherboards 3 January 17, 2007 09:24 PM