Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #51 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 10:00 PM
Mena's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hanover, Ontario
Posts: 454
Default

If only there was a good miniitx board for am3+....
__________________
I am watching you.

For me, insanity is super sanity. The normal is psychotic. Normal means lack of imagination, lack of creativity.

When a ladder was stolen from a store the manager said that further steps would be taken
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 10:38 PM
EmptyMellon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 434

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mena View Post
If only there was a good miniitx board for am3+....
If only there was a good micro-ATX board for AM3+...
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 10:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

are there any am3+ mitx?
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old October 23, 2012, 11:40 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 105

My System Specs

Default

Any word on whether or not you can run 4 sticks of DDR3 1866 on this version like you couldn't on buldozer? Or did that get fixed and I missed it?

Razz
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 03:32 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 560
Default

Okay...this is going to be stupid, but I will try to explain the difference between 'modules' and hyperthreading:

In a fictional cafeteria, there are two rooms. One is the serving area and the other is the dining area. In the serving area, there is a 'meat bar' and a 'salad bar.' This cafeteria serves customers that eat only meat, only veggies, or both.

The fire code in this city states that because there is not much standing room in front of the 'bars', there may only be one customer in the serving area at a time.

This cafeteria is highly reminiscent of a non-SMT CPU (not a 'module' and not hyperthreaded - think C2D) in that the meat bar resembles a integer ALU and the salad bar represents a FP ALU. The 'standing room' serves as the registers needed to one thread (ala one person).

BIG NEWS! the cafeteria has realized how odd it is to only serve one customer at a time, yet have two serving stations. They've gone through a renovation to increase the amount of standing room to hold up to two customers!

Now, if one customer wants only meat and the other wants only veggies, then the cafeteria can serve TWO customers at the same time. HOWEVER, if both customers want meat or veggies OR one customer wants both, then the throughput is back down to one customer at a time. In the last scenario, the renovations would have gone to waste! :(

AHHH! but another brilliant idea comes around! Since the sales receipts show that meat sales are nearly double that of salad sales, lets just add in another meat bar. Of course, this adds quite a bit of real estate expense. As well, if the cafeteria doesn't end up getting two customers that both want meat at the same time, then the new meat bar sits there being useless, but still taking up space.
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 05:45 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 44N by 79W
Posts: 360
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razamatraz View Post
Any word on whether or not you can run 4 sticks of DDR3 1866 on this version like you couldn't on buldozer? Or did that get fixed and I missed it?

Razz
I haven't tried 4 sticks at 1866, but I did notice that the memory overclocking is pretty horrible. I have been unable to raise memory clocks over 2100. Need more time with it but tried, PSC, BBSE and Hyper sticks and none of them could make it much higher than 2050 or so even though they are all able to easily reach those speeds on Llano or Ivybridge.
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 06:22 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,611
Default

I can confirm that Piledriver absolutely refuses to boot with the 2400MHz sticks I am using when they are set to their default frequency. Hell, the damn system actually refuses to POST....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 07:27 AM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I can confirm that Piledriver absolutely refuses to boot with the 2400MHz sticks I am using when they are set to their default frequency. Hell, the damn system actually refuses to POST....
is that in one board or a few it won't post?
__________________
Follow us on facebook at https://www.facebook.com/realhardwarereviews?ref=hl
Site and Forum online
http://forums.realhardwarereviews.com/index.php
Contests will be done on there from now on :)
http://realhardwarereviews.com/
Always up for a Beer in Calgary or Area

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not. Both are equally terrifying.”
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 07:37 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,611
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
is that in one board or a few it won't post?
Won't post on 990FX (ASUS & Gigabyte), that's for sure.

The non-post issue was resolved on the MSI FM2 board with the last beta BIOS.

All Intel boards post perfectly well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old October 24, 2012, 08:48 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rasparthe View Post
I haven't tried 4 sticks at 1866, but I did notice that the memory overclocking is pretty horrible. I have been unable to raise memory clocks over 2100. Need more time with it but tried, PSC, BBSE and Hyper sticks and none of them could make it much higher than 2050 or so even though they are all able to easily reach those speeds on Llano or Ivybridge.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
I can confirm that Piledriver absolutely refuses to boot with the 2400MHz sticks I am using when they are set to their default frequency. Hell, the damn system actually refuses to POST....
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soullessone21 View Post
is that in one board or a few it won't post?
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Won't post on 990FX (ASUS & Gigabyte), that's for sure.

The non-post issue was resolved on the MSI FM2 board with the last beta BIOS.

All Intel boards post perfectly well.
So then is this just a issue with running 4 moduals over 1600 mhz .... OR running 2 moduals over 1866 mhz? Or even a ram amount in general ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTX 660 Ti Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 147 September 15, 2012 11:45 PM
Vishera FX 8350 yehia7000 CPU's and Motherboards 7 August 8, 2012 08:40 PM
BFG GTX 285 OCX Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 8 January 21, 2009 01:55 PM
BFG GTX 260 Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Video Cards 33 November 15, 2008 10:26 PM