Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 11:59 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Exclamation Whoa.... all AMD?

I was shuffling my rig components this afternoon, and the following assessment came as a surprise:

Main: Asus Sabertooth, AMD 1090T
SWMBO: Supermicro H8SGL, AMD 6128
HTPC: Asus F1A75-M, AMD A6-3670K
Server: Asus KGPE-D16, AMD 6128s
Firewall: Asus M3A78-EM, AMD 920BE
4P: Supermicro H8QGL-F, AMD 6272s

For the first time in a long time in this House, no Intel chips...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 12:08 PM
Soullessone21's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Calgary AB
Posts: 1,322

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
I was shuffling my rig components this afternoon, and the following assessment came as a surprise:

Main: Asus Sabertooth, AMD 1090T
SWMBO: Supermicro H8SGL, AMD 6128
HTPC: Asus F1A75-M, AMD A6-3670K
Server: Asus KGPE-D16, AMD 6128s
Firewall: Asus M3A78-EM, AMD 920BE
4P: Supermicro H8QGL-F, AMD 6272s

For the first time in a long time in this House, no Intel chips...

that's some sexy gear u got there, how do u like the g34's for ur server? my 8core c32's never feel like enough.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 12:37 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

The server with dual 6128s is overkill, but allows running multiple VMs with ease vs. 64Gb o' ram installed.
The 4p with the (upcoming) quad 6272s - 64 cores - will be interesting to test under Windows folding and the TPC trick for max. performance.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 12:38 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Welcome to the club:

Stygian (Gamer) - Crosshair IV - FX8150 @ 4.5ghz
Chronus (2nd gamer) - MSI 890GXM-G65 - 1090T @ 4.0ghz
Behemoth (server) - Tyan S8812 - 4x 6272s @ 2.1Ghz
Parasite (Itx, inside Stygian's case) - Asus E350M1-i Deluxe - E-350 @ 1.6Ghz
Sonus (passive netbox) - Asus M4A88T-I Deluxe - Ph2 X4 830 @ 3.0ghz
HTPC (i forgot to name it...) - F1A75M- Pro - A8-3870 @ stock
Slim HTPC (also needs a name) - Gigabyte 880GMA-UD2H - Athlon 260u @ 1.8ghz

And I even have: (Non-AMD but...)
Remote access box - VIA VB8002 - Via Nano @ 1.6Ghz

Oh no! Wait! I DO have an INTEL (quickly everyone! I think im going to be Ill! lol)
Lenovo Y470p.... lol. Did I mention its FS soon?

But still though, 90% AMD, and more than that underdogs. Im actually looking forward to grabbing this: VIA Embedded - EPIA-M920

Support the little guys you know...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 01:26 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 33
Default

Nothing wrong with 'all AMD'.

I have an old AMD quad core that ... knock on wood ... is stable, and was cheap, one of my favorite 'back-burner' systems.


I just bought an Asus M488 system, socket AM3. I was going to put a 965 or 955 in it. Mainly because I want to have some XP64 compatible hardware around, it's slowly going out of stock.

The 965 for $100 is a great deal, but I have to add about the power consumption - a little high on the 965's, 125 watts spec. vs. 90 watts (or 95 ?) on the "Propus 930/940".


I would love to see AMD re-take the performance title, like they did around 2001/2002 with the Athlon 64.

AMD's stock market cap is around $2 Billion, so if someone tried to buy the company they could probably get it for $3 Billion.

Sort of how Oracle bought Sun. Makes me wonder who might buy AMD.

In some ways, the low stock price can act as a good incentive for engineers. They don't even need stock options - they can buy the stock for $2 a share.


I still have my old Opteron175 dual core. That's a great system too.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 02:08 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

I never wrote that it is wrong to be all AMD, I'm only surprised to be as such since the Household was once all Intel...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 02:19 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,585

My System Specs

Default

Well the HTPC I'm not surprised as they make solid htpc rigs for better pricing then Intel.

Interesting to see how right now you're all AMD. Wonder how long that'll last?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 02:49 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

I find the 1090T / 660Ti combo very capable, don't see myself updating that one for some time - unless Vishera is a real winner. Then my rig would become overkill.
The Wife's rig is overkill as it stands today. Seriously overkill.
The HTPC and Firewall are perfect as-is.
The server works great, I don't see the need to add new VMs for the time being. And with 16 cores / 64Gb ram, it's plenty powerful for some more if needed.

The 4P is a toy, and it may be the one next to be 'upgraded'... if I can convince myself to splurge 2k$ on DT's chips, and find a 4P board to go along...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 04:19 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

3.0.....

I know that times have been tough. And killing SR-2 Boards probably pushed you over the edge....I just never knew it was this bad.

I think we need to have an intervention.

-ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2012, 05:43 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,630

My System Specs

Default

But... but... but... they weren't listening!
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whoa... what happened? 3.0charlie Suggestions & Feedback 36 February 22, 2008 09:52 AM
Quad and folding = whoa... 3.0charlie HardwareCanucks F@H Team 25 January 28, 2008 08:03 AM