Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 06:11 AM
Avenger212's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default Will Motherboard Manufacturers release a new chipset for Piledriver this year?

I have been looking everywhere on the internet if motherboard manufacturers will release a new AMD chip-set this year or early next year to coincide with the release of Piledriver (Desktop version).

I kind a want the new features that Intel currently have. But I'm only waiting for Piledriver's benchmarks once they release it. If Piledriver meets the expectations I might stay with AMD if not, I will have my first Intel desktop since Pentium 3.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 06:15 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,535

My System Specs

Default

What features does intel have that AMD does not other than RST?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 06:29 AM
Avenger212's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 182

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supaflyx3 View Post
What features does intel have that AMD does not other than RST?
PCI express 3.0 (which I know there is little difference with 2.0), Newer chipset and yes RST. I think I only want new stuff in general. Kind a jealous with my other friends who has Intel Ivy and a new platform compared to my aging 1100T.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 07:15 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

The answer is...no.

Most 990FX motherboards already support Piledriver's microcode with their newest BIOS files. PCI-E 3.0 is certainly not necessary.

RST is an Intel technology. What would AMD possibly do with it?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 07:50 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

I purchase another Intel because I need RST ( I already have the Intel 40 GB SSD, and frankly I see no differences in real application between RST and a SSD as OS drive ) But If I will not have the 40 GB SSD I will have purchase another AMD board and a 120 GB SSD.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 07:51 AM
great_big_abyss's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,190

My System Specs

Default

OP, you seem to attach a negative connotation towards not having a chipset. I assure you, it's good news. All of us (myself included) who bought 9-series chipset motherboards and then upon seeing reviews did not upgrade to bulldozer (choosing instead to run our existing phenom IIs) will be able to simply drop in a new Vishera chip...depending on reviews, of course.
__________________



HTPC: Z77A-G45; 3770K; Coolermaster GeminII; 2x4GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz; MSI R7-260X; 2x 128GB Crucial M4 SSD; 1TB WD Green, 2x 2TB WD Green; PC P&C 750W PS; Fractal Design Node 605;
Son's Rig: M5A97; 1055T; CNPS20LQ; 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz; ASUS GTX650Ti Boost; 80GB Intel 520 SSD; 320GB WD Black HDD; SPI 700W; Bitfenix Shinobi;
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 08:08 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
I purchase another Intel because I need RST ( I already have the Intel 40 GB SSD, and frankly I see no differences in real application between RST and a SSD as OS drive ) But If I will not have the 40 GB SSD I will have purchase another AMD board and a 120 GB SSD.
Another option is a 32GB / 64GB kit of memory and AMD's RAMDisk.

In addition, other company's cache drives (Corsair Accelerator, OCZ's Synapse, etc.) which all come with their own software which can be used on AMD's systems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 08:32 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Another option is a 32GB / 64GB kit of memory and AMD's RAMDisk.

In addition, other company's cache drives (Corsair Accelerator, OCZ's Synapse, etc.) which all come with their own software which can be used on AMD's systems.
Maybe I missed it in the review, but I didn't come away with a clear picture of whether the RAMDisk function is a hardware based feature, or just a software based feature locked to AMD specific hardware. Is there actual coding built into the new APUs for this feature?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 08:43 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Maybe I missed it in the review, but I didn't come away with a clear picture of whether the RAMDisk function is a hardware based feature, or just a software based feature locked to AMD specific hardware. Is there actual coding built into the new APUs for this feature?
I'll expand that section shortly.

Essentially, it is a software solution.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2012, 08:45 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: midland, ontario
Posts: 519
Default

Simply put no.

There where reports/info that 10xx series chipset is being pushed back to a 13' timeframe. Futher rumor was steamroller was gonna be pushed out with the 10xx series chipset ... but word is nor AM3+ will also suposivly do steamroller as well.

My guess the reality is as well with DDR4 becoming so close to market that 10xx series chipsets are being held back to make a change over to DDR4, possibly Sata Express (double to quad pumped Sata interface) & other things.

Remember for awhile AMD (well mainly Ati at the time) did have a powerfull chipset that ran on both intel/amd cpu's & where seen that the cpu's itself where what held the chipsets back from seeing there full power potential. To me ... this is what I feel amd needs to do in combination with the cpu side of things to bring some competition back to intel.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
amd , asus motherboard , intel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard Manufacturers Expected to Show X79 at Computex 2011 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 6 May 30, 2011 07:03 PM
LucidLogix Releases Virtu GPU Virtualization Software to Motherboard Manufacturers FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 1 February 22, 2011 07:45 PM
EK is going to release EVGA Classified full cover chipset block Dazmode Water Cooling 14 June 17, 2009 07:16 PM
Trying to choose a motherboard/chipset bmfmass CPU's and Motherboards 14 November 21, 2007 03:24 PM
Intel to release new P35 chipset in April or May Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 March 15, 2007 11:31 AM